You've Gotta Be Kidding Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
If you love onions, you will love this recipe. Absolutely addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
served this tonight for christmas dinner...it was very well received. used a sweet maui onion. delicious over club crackers....not too strong a taste of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
The 'You've got to be kidding' part of this recipe is because these are terrible! Don't waste your time. I was sucked in by the good reviews, but these were a disappointment. Glad I only made a half batch - these were not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love onions and I've wanted to try this recipe for a while and I'm glad I did. I used sweet vidalia onions and it was a hit at the birthday party I brought it to. I served it with Ritz crackers, but any cracker would work just fine. It does sort of remind me of cole slaw, but maybe that's because I chopped the onions so they'd be easier to get on to the crackers. Very good, surprising taste and I will be serving this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These are to die for..I followed exactly except added a little parsley. Made seasoned crackers to serve this week. if you don't like onions, try anyway, does not taste like onions!! GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Have made this twice for parties and both times they were the first to disappear. The second time I made it I chopped the onions - much easier to spoon onto a cracker. Also, we like it better with either traditional Ritz crackers or with water crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I love onions so I thought I'd try this. The recipe appears to be fool proof so I'm not sure what went wrong - but, it was just not good, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is such a great recipe! I've only had the opportunity to make it twice, but plan on making it again soon. The first time I used regular mayonnaise and loved it (and so did everyone else that tried it!). The second time I tried the "healthier" olive oil mayo and was disappointed. It just didn't taste the same. I'll stick with the regular mayo from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I tried this just out of curiosity because it was so odd. Took it to a friend's party and it was a hit! My DH put a big ole spoonful on his plate and ate it as a side dish he liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I tried this recipe for a family gathering - primarily because most everyone in my family LOVES onions. Even though it looked like a really odd recipe - how could I go wrong with onions????? This is just incredible. Even the very few members of my family who are not onion lovers thought it was GREAT. They didn't know it had onions in it (how strange is that??) Everyone thought it had PINEAPPLE. And I admit - somehow - it really does have a pineapple flavor to it - at least with the Vidalia onions I used. I've had several family members ask for this recipe since I first made it - and they all got RAVE reviews. I made it again today for a Memorial Day Bar-B-Que tomorrow. I have every confidence it will be a hit - AGAIN! PS - definitely cut the onion slices in half - much easier to fit on a cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dauphin Island, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Cut Onions

See an easy way to peel and chop onions.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States