You've Gotta Be Kidding Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Although I think this was good I probably wouldn't make again except maybe for cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was ok to Good and I will say different!... However, after a couple of bites, it kind of gets a bit yucky and not good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
After draining and folding the onions into the mayonnaise, I added a heaping teaspoon of garlic powder and a good measure of fresh ground black pepper. OH MY GOODNESS, these are addictive! I swear, I could eat the whole bowl. NOTE: I used a reduced fat mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Made a test batch yesterday and I'm happy to say it is every bit of good that all the posters said it was. I tried it by itself and on a cracker. Much better with the cracker. Try it. You'll be surprised how tasty this simple recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I wasn't expecting the taste and am sad to say that I threw the whole batch out. My husband, his friend, and I didn't hate it but didn't think it was all that great. I'm sure others would love this dish, it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bighalofro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Easy to make, and folks at a party liked this ONCE they tasted it. That seems to be the stumbling block... I had them in the center of a serving dish, surrounded by crackers. Very few takers, but those that did try it, liked it. I will admit I had quite a lot of appetizers on the table, so maybe this got overlooked. If you're looking for a home run to serve, go with the King's Hawaiian Spinach dip recipe (on this site). Now THAT was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These were interesting...good on saltine crackers. It made a huge batch, but stored well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Very tasty on saltine crackers... allowing the onions to sit in the vinegar and sugar mixture really took out a lot of the heat... it reminded me of a cucumber onion salad with out the cucumber.. good way to use up onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I took this to a Super Bowl party and it was a total hit! I loved watching the looks on my friend's faces when they tried it. They LOVED it! It's so easy and doesn't require much time, ingredients, or effort. MY kind of recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The first time I made this, we thought it was tasty, but way too sweet, so now I use 1/3 cup sugar. I also like replacing some of the mayo with sour cream or cream cheese. People always get excited about these onions! Also great with Ritz crackers. My favorite hors d'oeuvre for a cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Cut Onions

See an easy way to peel and chop onions.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States