Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pugzy18
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made this according to recipe as written, turned out fantastically! I've also has success using canola oil, rather than beef drippings, and they turned out equally delicious (just heat up the canola oil a bit longer before cooking, like 15 minutes). I don't have a traditional Yorkshire pudding pan, but found using a Whoopie pie pan worked well - they look exactly like the puds I had in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was the 1st time I have made Yorkshire. I tried a large muffin tin which worked well. I used them as a side for roast beef with au jus and they were a great replacement for the heavy rolls I normally put out with the meal. I didn't let the batter set at all and the puddings still rose well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These were very easy to make, came out perfect, and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddaarryyll
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
added cheese on top for the last 5 minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I have been making Yorkies for the last 20 years on a weekly basis and have some tips for those people who say that their puds don't rise. First of all, I use yorkshire pudding pans I bought in England. If you don't have these use muffin pans. Second, I use 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil or vegetable shortening per slot. It has a higher smoking point than butter and olive oil. Thirdly, put your pan in the oven for at least 15 minutes before filling with batter. I take mine out of the oven and put the pan over a direct heat from the oven top and I also put the batter in a jug and pour them in while the pan is over direct heat. They will sizzle and set and THAT is the key. Put them back in the oven and set the timer for 25 mins. They will rise beautifully. I usually make the batter about an hour before I put them in the oven and have never had a problem. Do NOT use any leavening agent such as baking powder/soda. They just don't taste right. I also cut the salt to a half teaspoon and add a good grinding of freshly milled black pepper. I hope this helps those who are having trouble getting their puds to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Better than Better Homes and Gardens cookbook version! And as a devote, that is high praise from me. The recipe is essentially the same, but every year at Christmas (until I found this), my pudding separated when I mixed everything together and though the final product tasted good, it was always misshapen. Room tempts the key, friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe! Everything I hoped it would be and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
We had some filet mignon steaks to grill up the other night and I wanted something different as a side dish besides the usual potatoes. I know this dish is typically eaten with roasts but I thought I would give it a try anyway. We were not disappointed. It was perfection. I made it exactly as written other than the cooking time and the beef drippings. I used 1/4 butter and 1/4 oil as did a previous reviewer. Also, I pulled it out of the oven at 25 minutes instead of 30 otherwise it would have been overcooked. We were delighted with the results and will be making this again the next time we have a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was marvelous! Made it for Christmas dinner and it went over big time! My husband is from Yorkshire (lost his mothers recipe, therefore haven't made it for years. I baked it in individual tins (bought in England) and they puffed up beautifully! Tasted like Mum's and looked even prettier! Thanks for the great recipe, Mort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States