Yogurt Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LianaMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I think it came out great - I added a bit of an oatmeal crumble to the top if mine with some added spices - I think next time I will add more spice to the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Bread turned out great. I used only whole wheat flour, two egg whites and 1/8 cup lemon juice and 1 tsp cinnamon, no nutmeg. Just to make it healthier I wondered what could replace the melted butter. The bread has a nice dense texture. I sliced it to 1/4" like those party breads and then toasted. Definitely add fine chopped nuts and it's not sweet so you can add spreadable cheese or jelly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Nice quick bread for breakfast, though not my favorite. I found the taste very light and slightly bland, so it definitely needs some jam spread on it. It's a great way to use up leftover yogurt, though, so I would make it again for that reason. Otherwise, I'll stick with the Colonial Brown Bread recipe found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I added 1/2 t. cinnamon instead of 1/4 t. This bread was good, but I have a similar recipe that's healthier (no butter) so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I used orange juice instead of the lemon. The bread was ready in just 30 minutes at 350F. The flavor of nutmeg was a bit too strong. This bread is mildly sweet with good texture, but I think it's lacking something like dried fruit of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I really, really like the taste of this bread. It's just sweet enough. A really great healthy alternative recipe - thanks a lot! I modified it by: 1. making muffins instead of bread 2. added 1 extra tbsp of honey 3. "heaping" portions of the spices 4. recipe doesn't call for it but I added 1/8th tsp of ground cloves to the dry mixture and 1/2 tsp vanilla to the wet mixture 5. added 1/4 cup of ground pecans. 6. sprinkled a pinch of ground flax seeds and a pinch of white sugar on top. 7. forgot the egg!! Of the modifications, I would add the egg in next time and might add a additional egg to try and fluff it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
good for my first bread..would have liked more flavour...maybe sweeter..and 50 inutes was a bit too long..i would have done about 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Although I have a sweet tooth I like this bread because it does not call for cups of sugar like some other breads. It is a nice, basic tasty bread. Thank you for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very soft and moistalmost fluffy. Worked well as muffins and as bread. I added mulberries to half of the batter and both plain and berried bread and muffins had very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The bread did taste quite bland so it depends what you are using it for. If you were to put butter and jam on it then it would probably taste better. However I was making it because I am on the Candida diet - no sugar or yeast, if I do make it again I might try adding some herbs to infuse flavor. The crust around the bread was flavorful so not all was lost, I cut the middle out and used the upper and lower crust for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States