Yogurt Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made this into mini muffins, and we liked it. I only used 1/8 cup lemon juice, and added in a couple of heaping Tbsp. of strawberry jam to make up for the rest of the juice. Next time, I will try apricot jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used all whole wheat flour, used lime instead of lemon,and made muffins. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This bread is a pretty basic quick bread, but the batter is dry, and with the 50 minute bake time it got a bit overdone. I made mini muffins, mini loaves, and a regular sized loaf. The mini muffins were done at 15 min, the mini loaves at 25, and apparently the regular loaf probably should've been 30-35 min, not 50. I used peach yogurt (all I had) and used 3 6 oz containers. I think I'd add one more egg next time to make the batter a little more runny and/or add some fruit. It's good, but there's no overall fruity, lemony, or specific flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
The texture of this bread is very good and it's not too sweet. I ended up using vanilla yogurt instead of plain, added walnuts, and instead of cinnamon and nutmeg, I used lemon zest so that it would have an extra lemon-y flavor. Next time I think I will add more yogurt since the consistency of the batter was a bit thick (maybe I added too many dry ingredients) and I will definitely turn the heat down! I baked it at 370 for 36-37 minutes and the top got a bit burnt! Will set it at 350 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
The texture was good, but the flavor was lacking. I added another 1/4 t. of cinnamon, but next time would add 1/2 - 1 t. salt also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Meuzelaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This bread turned out great. It had good texture a pleasant flavor and was super moist. I topped mine with a good scattering of Uncle Sam Cereal before baking, that was a really nice topping to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I doubled the batch, and made some signifigant changes: 3 fat free, low sugar fruit yogurts, no butter, lemon juice, or honey, and all whole wheat pastry flour. The early browning might be due to the honey in the recipe; reduce your oven temp. by 25º.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Too soft: better texture after a couple of days. Tasteless: adding pecans or nuts makes a big difference (that what I did). Very nice with jam&butter. It actually takes 50 minutes if a bread maker is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Very easy, and healthier on account of the yogurt and honey. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Once it cooled, this bread was great! It is unusual. It has the texture of a quick bread (nice and moist) but a taste more similar to yeast breads. It is more bland that most quick breads, but has a great subtle taste. Will most likely make again. (Mine took only 35 min to bake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States