Yogurt Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This turned out pretty good. It doesn't taste exactly like the spinach dips at the store, but it's definitely a lot healthier and pretty good tasting too! I also cut down the mayo by half a cup and increased the yogurt by half a cup. I put in all the spinach I had, which was the whole bunch that they sell at the stores in the fresh produce section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Good flavor, but DO NOT make this in a food processor. It becomes too watery. I'm not sure how I'll thicken this up... EDIT - added a small container of sour cream to thicken, and it definitely helped -- both with flavor and consistency. I hadn't realized before just how salty this was by the recipe. Much better now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is tasty and nutritious. Can't beat that. I used low-fat yogurt and mayo. I accidentally changed the spice measurement from 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon and I'm glad I did. I added onion powder and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used one teaspoon of season salt to cut back on the salt and it was still pretty noticeable. I added a heaping 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper that really was great with it but it still could have used some water-chestnuts. I used about a cup of left-over steamed spinach and could have used more. Over all, very good stuff though. It's good to know that yogurt can be used in place of its less nutritious counterparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was pretty gross, which is such a shame because I really wanted it to be good! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and subed an extra 1/2 cup of yogurt for the mayo, but I think that made it worse. I also ended up with waaaaay too much "sauce", so I kept throwing spinich in. I added artichokes, onions, parm, and still it wasn't very tasty :( It did taste the best when I ate it on bell pepper "chips"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ktkat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
We love this recipe. Always keep some in the fridge. It is great as a dip but also as a dressing in souvlaki pitas (instead of tzatziki) or on burgers. We use 1/2 cup of mayo instead of the full cup and add 1/2 cup of yogurt (total of 1 1/2 cups of yogurt). We prefer the consistency and the flavours stand out more with yogurt than mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STACY
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Super Bowl Sunday and I had a box of frozen spinach & took to the all recipes! Took everyones reviews into consideration on this recipe - cut way back on the mayo & added little sour cream - cut back on the seasoning salt & picked up differnce with the Old Bay, went with the fronzen spinach because had that on hand. Last went light on garlic powder in place of the garlic salt. Also added little ground pepper & a little grated Parmesan. With everyones helpful reviews - I think this creation is worth 5 stars! Will be a yummy hit at the big game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The taste of mayonnaise was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
The worst recipe I've tried so far. No redeeming factors whatsoever. Used garlic instead of garlic salt & still WAAAAAY too salty. Sorry, but I followed everything to a "T", but no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This definitely tastes mayo-y, but it got good reviews from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was allll the rage at my block party. My brother and his friends almost ate all of it before most of our guests arrived! I even used FAT FREE yogurt, and no one knew! I used more spinach for it too, as it seemed you can keep adding and adding. My boyfriend cut up some whole wheat pitas, brushed with olive oil and basil, and viola! Perfect combo. I like it better than any other spinach dip I had, and felt it was a healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States