Yogurt-Marinated Salmon Fillets (Dahi Machhali Masaledar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made this recipe with boneless/skinless chicken thighs and grilled them. It turned out great! I'm guessing thighs work better than breast because they have more fat/flavor. I did use a bit less cayenne but that's because my kids and I aren't big spicy fans. Adjust the cayenne according to your heat factor. Served with pita bread instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was wonderful! My husband doesn't usually like fish, but he loved this recipe. Would be a great dish to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is by far one of the best tasting salmon I have ever had! The marinade tastes great and the garlic and ginger gave the dish a great texture. Overall, two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was so good. I don't usually like cooked fish, but this was amazingly tasty...so moist, so flavorful. I marinaded for 24 hour then I broiled it....4 mintutes each side....so GOOD!!!!! You must try this. Wipe the excess marinade off, broil and enjoy. I used greek yogurt and all the spices and it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made this for dinner last night and served it with Lemon Basmati Rice. My husband and I both loved it. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family loved it! Followed recipe as written except I omitted salt altogether, left the excess marinade on our salmon and baked it at 400 for 20 minutes (roughly). It was fantastic. Just enough bite for my husband and almost 7 year old son. And me. We love Indian food and enjoy making it often. I served this over simple saffron rice (rice, water, and a bit of saffron in the rice cooker) and there are no leftovers. Thanks, we will be making this again. I also think the marinade would make a fantastic dip and plan to make some soon. Maybe with a bit of sour cream to thicken it up a bit...or use greek yogurt instead of the organic stonyfield my husband bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I did not think flavor went well with salmon. I marinaded salmon overnight(as the recipe said)and add more yogurt to mixture. I prepared two fillets with this recipe, and after I ate the first fillet, I poured honey glaze over the second one to see if it would give salmon more flavor, but it still did not work. The baste was too watery during the cooking process, and I had to pour some juice out the pan halfway through cooking salmons. Instead of garlic cloves, I substituted garlic powder, everything else was the same. Overall, I was not satisfied with dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Next time I will halve the salt as it was a bit salty and I used a little less cayenne than was called for because my spice tolerance isn't great. This would also be a delicious marinade on chicken or tofu if your family doesn't all enjoy salmon. I'm a vegetarian who eats fish, but I'm excited to try this with seitan or tofu. I will definitely be making this again with salmon as well--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I cooked it for my husband and a couple of friends. They all loved it and asked for the recipe. Instead of regular plain yogurt I used Chobani's plain Greek yogurt. Also think that 1/2 Tbsp of Cayenne is a bit too much. Was overpowering, so the second time I cooked it I used 1/4 Tsp instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is my first allrecipes review. This salmon is short of oustanding. I prepare as directed. No changes no substitutions needed. My husband loves it as is. Have also made with chicken. Super yummy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States