Yogurt Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I made this with greek yogurt I made myself and it was so moist and delicious..I really liked it a lot. I always put corn,onion and jalapenos in my "cornkit" cornbread anyways...sooo good! I like the idea too of being able to make a simple great bread from scratch,with both my new kitchen toys..my bread machine and yogurt maker! ;) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saracheri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I was wondering about the small amount of yeast and as I started loading up the machine, I realized I never looked at the comments so I made some changes on the fly. I used 2 tsp of yeast which gave me a nicely-sized loaf. I did increase water by 1/3 C but do not recommend that as it made my loaf too loose (although will probably last longer). I cook with a very fluid type of plain whole yogurt from Fiddle Creek Dairy in PA which is maybe why I didn't need the extra water or maybe just the extra yeast solves the density issue others had. I would suggest using the liquid from your canned corn to make up your 1/3 C water. I thought of this too late, as I was pouring it down the drain! I upped salt to 1 tsp and sugar to almost 3 tsp (using Demerara and brown). Since I didn't have onion powder I used dried onion flakes instead. I used canned John Copes dried corn which gave it a very cornbready taste, although if you're expecting typical cornbread this isn't it as it is standard bread texture due to the yeast. I found it to be very tasty and will make again with original water content as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this as written and it was okay. I felt it was a little bland for cornbread. My husband suggested it may be a good bread to use for sandwiches. In order to change this recipe to my tastes I would add more sugar, more corn and/or cornmeal, and swap the onion powder for garlic powder. Perhaps a bit extra salt might not hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I read the reviews for this before I made it, so I added a little bit more water and used one packet of active dry yeast. It came out quite tasty! My husband really enjoyed it and so did I. It did not, however, taste like traditional cornbread that I grew up with - more like regular bread with a corn twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very dense! I wondered if I had added the yeast? The flavor is good. I think the amount of yeast should have been 1 pkg. yeast or possibly 1 T., not 1 tsp. I used agave syrup in place of the sugar, and used 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of all bread flour. I will probably make this again, but will increase the amount of yeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
not the right taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This was unlike any cornbread I've ever made. It was very dense. Not enough cornmeal or corn for flavor, very plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Had to debate how many stars to give this. (Really debate - I kept going from 3 to 4 and back.) I made a substitution of defrosted frozen MIXED vegetables for canned corn, and that worked. I also had fat-free yogurt, which is probably much thicker than the normal, so the dough was thicker. And it was quite an enjoyable, albeit plain, loaf. I think the recipe may want more water, but give it a go for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
unusual and delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This is delicious and moist--very popular at my house. Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States