Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
These were excellent cookies. I thought the yogurt might add a slight tangy flavour, but they taste just like good ol' chocolate chip cookies. I only had vanilla flavoured non-fat yogurt, so I reduced the vanilla to 1 tsp. I used a mix of semi-sweet and white chocolate chips, substituted half the flour with whole wheat flour, and used all butter instead of shortening (like previous reviews suggested, and because I didn't have any on hand!). I like that they don't use eggs, as I rarely have them on hand, but always have yogurt hanging around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love these cookies; I much prefer soft/cakey cookies over chewy flat ones. These are wonderful and forgiving - I've made them as the recipe states, subbing at various times & combinations butter or margerine for all the fat, sour cream for yogurt, whole wheat for regular flour. My favourite variation is actually 1 cup reese's pieces with 1 cup chips... those also disappear really fast around other people (literally 15 min for an entire batch at work). I do find they tend to brown quickly on the bottom, but I don't feel bad underbaking them as there's no eggs. My oven is also a little variable in terms of temperature, which is probably why this happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Yum yum yum. And the best part...you can lick the bowl without risking salmonella. The yogurt adds a tang that compliments the butter and sugar taste. I used butter for the shortening and they came out better than any other chocolate chip cookies I've ever made, with or without eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is a great recipe. My 3 year old nephew is allergic to almost everything, but eggless cookies was what I was on the hunt for. I did adjust it a little from reading the other reviews. I used butter instead of margarine and shortening and added an extra teaspoon of vanilla. They were really really good. I under cooked them a little bit so they were soft instead of crispy. My nephew devoured them and so did everyone else. It's so hard to find a good recipe that uses something else in place of eggs, but this was definatley it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Excellent recipie. I changed it a bit though. Used 1/2 c. butter in total and instead of chocolate chips I used 1/2 c. cocoa powder and my kids LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESSCOLOGY
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
surprisingly yummylicious!! Like others, I used all butter in place of shortening...Sweet enough for me but its alittle too chewy... will try baking again perheps for a longer time for a crispy edition! =) yields 45 cookies...**Edit: Baked it again today; changed the baking time since I prefer crunchy cookie. Bake for 12mins and the cookies were perfect! cripsy at the side, chewy in the middle! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSCOLOGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Everyone loved these. Healthy and delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
this is the best choc chip cookie ever!! besides famous amos of course. according to the previous reviews, i've made a few variations: 1/4 cup butter in total (no shortening needed), 2/3 total amt of sugars added (the choc chips are sufficient to make the cookies sweet!) and a few more drops of vanilla. the outcome? MmMMMmmm.... definitely 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
These are delicious!!!!! Soft and light in the middle and crispy on the edges! I, too, used 1/2 c butter and only 1/4 cup white sugar. I increased the vanilla to 2.5 teas and the baking time to 11 mins. They are so nummy!!!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I made some changes to this recipe. I added 1/3 C brown sugar and a little less than 1/3 C white sugar. For the flour, I used 3/4 C white flour, 3/4 C whole wheat flour and 1/4 C ground flax seed. I used a little more than 1/3 C butter, no shortening. Vanilla yogurt and 2T vanilla. 1 C mini choc chips. I was a little worried that I took out too much of the sugar when I tasted the batter. It wasn't very sweet, but after they were cooked, they were fabulous. My DH loves them and wants me to make more tonight. The cookies did flatten out like I had expected, but that doesn't matter to me if he likes them. :) They are very soft and cakelike cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States