Yogurt Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
A really great tasting cake,yogurt and chocolate fudge make a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
DELICIOUS! I used fat-free yogurt and skim milk to cut down on calories! Also I garnished the cake with strawberry slices covered in chocolate syrup! Definitely a keeper! Thanks! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is good and I did find it nice and moist. I think the people who complained that the cake was dry probably left it too long in the oven. I think it's the sort of cake that can go from moist to dry very quickly. I added a little more liquid than what the recipe called for (eg: just slightly over 1/2C of veg oil, slightly more than 1/2C of yoghurt) to prevent it from being dry. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lesley Maria
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very moist and tasty. I didn't have a 9" square pan so made it in two round 8" pans. Baked for 25 minutes and it turned out great. Sandwiched the two with chocolate spread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
not really a chocolate cake, so I added some cocoa camino powder...Now its chocolate cake!!! great recipe...I almost always put yogurt in as a substitute wet ingredient....thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Too dry even though I added 3 tablespoons milk to dough by accident. Cook less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Watersmeet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made these and from suggestions of others, added a few tbsp of milk to the batter. I used plain greek 0% fat yoghurt. I also changed 1/2 cup of flour to 1/2 cup of cocoa powder because I was looking for a chocolate recipe - I made these into 16 cupcakes. I didn't have butter on hand which is mainly why I picked this recipe. The cupcakes only took 15 minutes to bake, and I am at altitude (Calgary AB) but they were tasty and moist. I haven't iced them yet, will be making them into some kind of halloween treat. Thanks for the recipe! Rating of 4 stars because I didn't make it as-written. The cupcakes were more dense than fluffy, which is fine with me because I want to dress them up and I don't want them to be too fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Really REALLY dry cake. The cake was NOT sweet either. To top it off, the icing was extremely bitter and I'm a HUGE dark chocolate fan. Will only try again with more sugar and milk in cake batter and semi sweet chocolate in the icing. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Sorry, I found the cake very dry and the frosting not sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This cake is outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States