Yogurt Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This recipe is very delicious. I made some minor alternations that made a big difference. I used Italian breadcrumbs and mixed in a dash of garlic powder, salt, pepper and cayenne. I am very diet-conscious, so I completely eliminated the use of butter. Instead of buttering the pan, i placed a cooling rack in the bottom of the 9x13 pan and lightly coated it with cooking spray. Instead of adding a pad of butter on top of the chicken, I lightly misted them with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Spray. Since the chicken was not saturated with butter and because it was elevated with the use of the cooling rack, the chicken was crunchy all around, rather than soggy on the bottom. Very delicious flavor, though. My family loved the zippiness of the lemon yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alfred Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This recipe is a wonderful one for chicken breasts; I did a little change to the original recipe, though: I added a little bit more lemon juice to the yogurt than what was called for, I marinated chicken for 6+ hours in the yogurt mixture and seasoned plain dried bread crumbs by myself. The results were perfect: I ended with tender lemony chicken breasts, seasoned just the way I like them. I didn't wait 5 to 10 minutes before serving (kitchen smelled too good to let this chicken sit that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This was quite delicious. The chicken stays tender and juicy and the flavor of the lemon garlic yogurt is just right. I put fresh pressed garlic into the yogurt as opposed to garlic salt. I also used fresh cilantro instead of parsley. The hard part was coating the chicken -- the crumbs became lumpy after two breasts. I think next time I will sprinkle coat the breasts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Used crushed corn flakes rather than bread crumbs. ranch dressing seasoning, pinch of herbs, dash of hot sauce. 3 cloves crushed garlic butter flavored cooking spray. was very good and crisp. thanks for a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very moist chicken. I cut up the chicken breasts and marinated for one hour. I used panko bread crumbs seasoned with my favorite cajun seasonings and garlic salt. Turned out perfect. One hour was just right. The only thing I missed was a dipping sauce! This recipe just calls for it. I like to cut a piece and dip. Found one on this site that has a Thai sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
This is a really yummy chicken dish! I made it with cut up chicken pieces (half a chicken for this amount of coating) which is alot cheaper than breasts. I peeled off the skin and threw it away so it would be less fat but you don't need it anyway, the yogurt does the trick to keep it very moist. This will definitley be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
whoops - I accidentally made this with vanilla yogurt instead of plain yogurt and it was STILL good. However, I certainly don't recommend this as a recipe modification :0) Will make again using plain yogurt or even a prepared tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was a nice recipe, but nothing spectacular. I encountered the same "problem" I have with all chicken recipes that don't require marinades--the outside of the chicken is very tasty, but the inside is bland because none of the coating reaches the meat underneath. However, this recipe was quick and easy to prepare, and the coating was crunchy and flavorful, so I would make it again. I served the chicken with the "Baked Mac and Cheese for One" recipe on this site--it all made a very nice, comforting fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
The chicken was very moist and came out nicely. Next time I will add more lemon and more garlic as I felt the chicken needed a bit more flavor. But this recipe is a keeper! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Excellent recipe. I modified the recipe by marinating the chicken for one hour and then using cornbread stuffing instead of bread crumbs. I also used crushed garlic (about 2 teaspoons) instead of the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States