Yogurt Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly and I also needed to pour off some of the water. Based on reviews, I added yogurt after I took the pan off the heat and it did not curdle! I also used a lot more curry powder than mentioned. I used non fat greek yogurt and find this to be a very good low carb dish. It's a good idea to throw in some onion and other vegetables. I will make this again and I like it best cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
A bit bland, but a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Mushy and not very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
4 star for this basic recipe and because I have my own favorite ingredients that go along with curry, I decided to try this: 1) Instead of using plain yogurt, I used Baked Apple Pie flavor yogurt. 2) Added hot curry instead of mild because my husband and I love curry. 3) Also, for more flavor, I added my onion mix which consists of lemongrass, galangal, ginger, garlic and small onions. Definitely gave it a kick! 4) With a little hint of lemon juice, salt and cilantro to top it off. 5) I marinated the chicken with all the ingredients for at least an hour before baking. 5) Instead of cooking it in a saucepan, I baked it 375 degrees F for about 45 minutes. This is definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by souldistraction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very good! Did as suggested, used less water, and lowered the temperature to add the yogurt so it didn't curdle. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This recipe is fine. Those who have a hard time with curdling yogurt simply have not done a lot of cooking with yogurt. Sometimes even lowering the temp and adding corn starch does not help. Yogurt is a mild product. Curdling doesn't mean it's bad. Cottage cheese and Ricotta are curdled cheese products, but there's nothing wrong them them, or curdled yogurt. Mine curdled too. I ate it anyway, and it was fine. I cooked it down to reduce the water content a bit. It does have some texture, but tastes just fine. For those of you who don't realize this, all the curds are is small bits of yogurt cheese, which can be made by simply straining the water out of yogurt through cheese cloth. Curdling is just a hazard of working with cooked yogurt. Toughen up and eat it! There are too many people starving in this world to justify throwing food away without even trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I have tried a recipie alot like this and i used sour cream in place of the yogurt. When it was done cooking I had some bread crumbs I had added some spices to and baked it till they were browned...was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This came out wonderfully last night. I did have to drain out some of the water after the chicken cooked. I also added some raisins because that is how the Indian restaurant in my neighborhood serves it. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Turned out wonderful. Sautéed chicken first, added onions and celery. The yogurt has to be added after taking it off the heat to avoid curdling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I did not care for this. Yogurt curdled. Was not even edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States