Yogurt Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AccidentalFoodie
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Fantastic-- the recipe is great as-is (strikingly similar to Boursin cheese), but has so many possibilities for adaptation depending on what you add. The consistency is so much like a soft cream cheese, but without all the fat. I think this will become a staple in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This recipe got me on a yogurt cheese kick. I have been making my own yogurt from milk and store bought plain yogurt...organic, full fat, low fat, reduced fat, even vanilla flavored. Every bit of the yogurt cheese I have made has been delicious. I use coffee filters. I've gotten my friends very interested in making yogurt and yogurt cheese which we use for sour cream or continue on to the cream cheese stage. It's great in all recipes calling for those two items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I love this. I've been making this for years. I use a mesh strainer with a coffee filter. I also use non-fat yogurt. I don't add anything to the yogurt before straining. I add garlic, dried veggies, and/or other spices to it after it's strained as I need it. This is especially good for dieters who need a non-fat alternative for dressings, dips, sauces, spreads, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Ohh~!! Nice way to make creamy cheese! Loved it! Although instead of waiting for the water to drain away I just poured the mix on a clean handkerchief placed on a strainer and twisted the cloth to manually drain it while watching TV. I just couldn’t wait for the two days. It was easy and not messy at all. I did this until there was no more water to drain. Just remember to wash your hands very well. You can instantly see how the cheese forms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I love yogurt cheese. I use coffee filters instead of cheesecloth and it works just as well. I love to make yogurt cheese patties. Roll them in bread crumbs and pan fry them and serve them atop greens with a vinagrette. It makes an excellent salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Not that I followed this recipe to the tee, however, I've been making yogurt cheese for some time. I also agree that you can use coffee filters/paper towels, etc. to strain the yogurt. I don't bother buying cheese cloth to do this. In any event, I also use the full fat yogurt vs low or non-fat variety. I use this "cheese" for many reasons from potato salad and so on. You can dress this up or down depending on what you are striving for in a recipe. I love it! I don't add the garlic unless I think it will go with whatever recipe I'm using it for or in. This is way better than using just ready made yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
YUM! I changed things up a bit though... I didn't add anything to the yogurt, and since I didn't have cheese cloth, I used 2 paper towels. It worked great! After the yogurt cheese was made, I added chopped green olives! YUM! Also, the second time I tried this, I added chopped cucumbers, salt, garlic and dry dill. This is my new favorit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IACBY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I did not have any cheesecloth on hand, so I used a clean, white handkerchief. It worked perfectly! I used yogurt that I made in my yogurt maker, and it came out great. I added all sorts of fresh herbs and spices and used it as a spread for pitas with hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe! Yogurt Cheese will become a staple in my refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sokcho, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I couldn't get over how easy, and tasty, this cheese was. It made a great veggie dip, and a perfect sandwich spread. I made it according to the recipe this time, but I can't wait to experiment with the ingredients. Fresh dill is up first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palewinterwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States