Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
My family really enjoyed this cake. It is very moist. We cut down the sugar by 1/4 and added an egg to make up for it. We didnt have margarine so we just used vegetable oil instead. We used vannila extract and vanilla yogurt instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I love pound cake, but I'm always concerned about all the fat and the sugar. This cake was really good, I only used 1 cup of sugar, 3/4 cup of butter, fat free plain yogurt and vanilla extract. My husband and the kids also enjoyed it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Yum! I halved the recipe and used vanilla and butter instead - please do use butter, it tastes so much better! The edges baked up crispy and tasted like butter cookies right out of the oven. Be sure to use cold butter and do not overmix - my batter was still lumpy when I poured it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent is what I will say! Here are the changes I made: like others I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 sticks butter, I did not have lemon yogurt so I used low-fat plain, I added the zest of 3 lemons into the batter. I also used a lemon glaze made of powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice. This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made. So moist, so delicious, truly amazing. Extremely quick and easy to make, mine baked in 55 minutes. Thanks for a GREAT yogurt cake, my 1st and it's a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinnyLovesWhenIBake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was a really good cake! When I first made it, I left out the lemon extract (by accident) and glazed it with a mixture of 1/2 cup confectioner's sugar and 2 tbsp lemon juice. Everyone thought it was a rum cake! You could probably sub rum extract for the lemon. If I make it again, I would also add about 1/4 cup of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was absolutely sinful! I used whole milk vanilla yogurt and real butter, and vanilla instead of lemon extract. Next time I will try with the lemon extract! Also made a powdered sugar glaze for the top of the cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good recipe. The cake was moist and the texture was light. I subbed butter-flavored crisco for the margarine, used 3/4 c. sugar, as other reviewers suggested, and used vanilla flavoring and vanilla yogurt. I love that this recipe is so flexible and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Added sour cream instead of yogurt, doubled the lemon extract and glazed with powdered sugar and lemon juice glaze. Everyone said to give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
My family enjoyed this cake, especially my young daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
We followed others' ideas and used 1.5 cups of butter and sugar....grated lemon zest into plan yogurt, and baked for just 57 minutes. After allowing cake to cool for 10 minutes, we inverted it onto a glass plate then using a wooden skewer, poked holes all over the cake. We prepared a glaze of .5 cup powdered sugar, 2 T honey, juice of one lemon, 1 t lemon zest, and .5 t of cardomom - which we then poured over entire surface of cake. Allow to "set" for a few more minutes and enjoy with a hot cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States