Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Lately, I've been baking a lot of vegan cakes and they don't really stand up quite as good as cakes with eggs - so when I found this recipe I thought I'd try it because it contains yogurt and that is something I almost always have - I never have sour cream... I used regular vanilla yogurt, and vanilla extract - no lemon for me... and this cake was just the perfect consistency - it held up very well and it tasted so perfect and yummy - i will definitely add it to my permanent recipe book - and use it again and again... hey maybe next time i'll try it with strawberry yogurt and strawberry extract just to give it a little something extra ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Photo by BusyMom
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I needed to use up some leftover vanilla yogurt so I decided to make this. I did make some minor changes. I used vanilla yogurt & as others suggested, I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups & margarine to 1 1/2 sticks. Delicious! I drizzled vanilla glaze over the top! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by Anita Dayoff
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
4.5 stars. This is an easy and delicious cake. Beautiful thin crisp crust, soft and tender inside. Twelve servings will make less than ten cups of cake, so I didn't get the full design of my bundt pan. But I think loaves are the way to go, more of the yummy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My 4-year-old had a blast making this cake! Easy recipe to follow. We used vanilla extract and yogurt instead of lemon. I also reduced the sugar and used vegetable oil instead of butter and it still turned out great. This is a great recipe if you have yogurt in your fridge that needs to be used before it expires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommastamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've made this great cake 7 times now. Four were perfect in texture (like a moist, VERY slightly chewy bread, good air holes but not what I'd call airy and light). With the others I'm obviously doing something wrong; the texture is smoother, denser, no holes, finer grain. Does this mean too much liquid, or overmixing, or what? I'm new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Use plain yogurt, vanilla extract, and butter instead of margarine. I also added a cup of blueberries. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
A simple way to use up yogurt. Moist and very cakey. Used 1.5 cups of sugar instead of 2. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've made this cake a few times and it always turns out moist and delicious. I've also made it with vanilla extract and vanilla yogurt instead of lemon and my family loves it even more. Good, versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent is what I will say! Here are the changes I made: like others I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 sticks butter, I did not have lemon yogurt so I used low-fat plain, I added the zest of 3 lemons into the batter. I also used a lemon glaze made of powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice. This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made. So moist, so delicious, truly amazing. Extremely quick and easy to make, mine baked in 55 minutes. Thanks for a GREAT yogurt cake, my 1st and it's a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinnyLovesWhenIBake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Awesome! I used butter instead of margarine, 12 oz of vanilla yogurt and used vanilla extract instead of lemon extract and cut the sugar in half. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States