Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The result tasted like sour cream. This is the first tzatziki recipe I have seen that uses sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cacimbo Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Make sure to get good cucumbers, my cucumbers were kinda tasteless but the sauce rocked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I'm not really into greek food that much but had to test some recipes before going to a greek event i had to attend. I have tried tzatziki sauce in the past and this one is probably the best ones ive tasted so far. It doesn't have mint , dill, and not straight greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just like I get in restaurants. Same spicy taste from the raw garlic as well, which is not my preference, but my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Turned out great! Chilling for at least 2 hours is essential! I let mine sit overnight turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Perfect! I used this on a Chicken Souvlaki and we loved it! I had never grated a cucumber for the Tzatziki sauce - always just chopped it up. This way is much better and the blend of spices is just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Perfection as is. Could be called Yia Yia's Birth Control because it's better than sex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Excellent and authentic! I tried two other recipes on here for Tzatziki and this is by far my favourite with one exception - I added approx 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (1/2 lemon). I gave the recipe five stars because it deserves five - I just happen to like my tsztsiki with lemon. My thanks to Auntie and Jess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I truly appreciate heritage recipes and try to prepare them as exact as possible so that I get the full effect. With this Tzatziki sauce, I did switch the amounts of yogurt vs. sour cream as I didn't have enough sour cream on hand and I like the yogurt "zing". I will say I liked the smoothness that the sour cream gave the final product. I prepared everything else exact to the recipe given. However, I was underwhelmed. It was very bland. I understand that it's authentic but - to my personal taste - it was bland. I added salt, that was a help. I then added dill as I love dill in my Tzatziki and that made a world of improvement however it was still lacking something. On the advice of my daughter, I added fresh lime juice. SUCCESS! It finally made my mouth sing! I understand this is a traditional and authentic recipe but sometimes traditional and authentic doesn't suit everyone's palate. This was one of those times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Haha, it's been in all the yiayia's families! This is pretty much basic tzatziki.. :-) well, it could use a little salt and pepper and no sour cream, Greek yogurt 100%!!!! Also, take out the cucumber seeds. Yummy! Bon appetite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States