Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Just right, like the sauce you get in a gyro shop. Putting this one in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Great, refreshing dip. I cut the recipe in half. What is missing is fresh dill and a bit of lemon. I used reduced fat dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by U142461

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This recipe is just like my baba used to make- traditional greek sauce!! I added nothing and it didn't need anything because traditional greek sauce doesn't have anything else! The greek yogurt makes it! Thanks for sharing- its a keeper! Danni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I went to Greece over the summer, and I absolutely loved the tzatziki there. I couldn't wait to find an authentic recipe. This is it! I didn't add anything, and it was perfect- just like what I had in Greece. It really makes a lot, so when I am not entertaining, I will scale it back. Thanks for the great recipe! Spring for the English cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jpidge
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe! I vacationed in Crete for 3 weeks in January 2007. So, I know what authentic tzatziki sauce is suppose to taste like. This recipe is definitely right up there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really, really, really good! I added just a little fresh chopped cphives for color. Served on top of grilled lamb patties. Delicious! I'll make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Really good, but if you want to make it less fat and still good. Use fat free plain yogurt, and low fat sour cream. I also do not use olive oil. For lots of flavor add a tablespoon of greek seasoning, and some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I loved this sauce, it is very authentic. The only thing I added was a tablespoon of dill per my taste. However, I am sure the recipe is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Wonderful! I also added 1 tsp of dried Dill (Supermarket didn't have fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This sauce was just ok and was a little thin. I couldn't find greek yogur or english cucumbers and it sounds like those make this recipe better. Was a little sweet for my taste so I added some dill weed which helped. Used it with the "Gyro Burger" recipe posted on this site and it did taste well on them, would have been better if a little thicker in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States