Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Thank you for an awesome tzatziki recipe without dill or mint (I had none). I went through browsing a ton of tzatziki recipes on this site and finally stumbled on this one. I had to scale the recipe down as I was only making this for 3 people. I used a half a cucumber, grated it the put in a sheet of bounty towel paper and squeezed the water out, then repeated the step with another fresh towel paper. I also filtered 2% milk yogurt since I had no Greek yogurt, I used about 3/4 of a cup since it was gonna shrink when it lost moisture. I then combined the yogurt, cucumber, 3/4 cup of light sour cream, 2 cloves of garlic, and about 1 tbsp of evoo. Refrigerated for about 2 hrs. It was perfect with the "Greek potato stew" from this site and lemon pilaf and Greek salad. I will no longer buy store made tzatziki, this was so easy to make and better tasting. The key is in getting the moisture out of the cucumbers and yogurt (if your not using greek yogurt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is an excellant recipe! I followed it exactly and it turned out wonderful. My husband loved it and even my 2 year old liked it. We'll definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is absolutely the kind of Tzatziki you will find if you visit Greece. Its awesome - but for those who do feel they need a bit more of a flavor kick try adding some fresh mint or a few shaks of bottled greek seasonings. Also if you are using fat free products remember to drain everything or it will be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
i served it w/ a gyro burger recipe also on the site. it was really good. i sprinkled some salt on my shredded cucumber to cause it to sweat more so it wouldn't get too soupy. we used the rest for chip and veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Couple of things: I've never seen Greek yogurt at any store so I just buy regular, and spoon it into a coffee filter. The moisture drains away in no time, and it's an excellent substitute for Greek yog. Secondly, English cucumbers are sometimes called Hothouse cucumbers. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Thanks for all the great reviews everyone! For those of you who are looking for a low-fat recipe - Whole Foods Market (or probably any other natural foods supermarket) carries a FAT FREE Greek Yogurt, so you still get the thickness, and the great taste! If you choose low fat sour cream over the regular, make sure to drain the water. And for those of you who aren't sure what English Cucumbers are, they are sometimes called something different in the Supermarket - but always come fully wrapped in plastic! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNeo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Delicious! Served on falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This sauce was just ok and was a little thin. I couldn't find greek yogur or english cucumbers and it sounds like those make this recipe better. Was a little sweet for my taste so I added some dill weed which helped. Used it with the "Gyro Burger" recipe posted on this site and it did taste well on them, would have been better if a little thicker in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Wonderful! I also added 1 tsp of dried Dill (Supermarket didn't have fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I loved this sauce, it is very authentic. The only thing I added was a tablespoon of dill per my taste. However, I am sure the recipe is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States