Yia Yia's Avgolemono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Brilliant recipe. Efcharisto for sharing it. This is really good and honest kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was very good! The lemon really lightens up the soup. The only thing I did different was instead of discarding the veggies, I used a stick blender and just pureed them into the broth. I might also try adding a bit of lemon zest next time to enhance the lemon flavor. Nice change from my regular chicken soup, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I cooked this for the very first time for our very Greek Easter and very Greek family members. It was Amazing!!!! Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Thanks for this exquisite recipe! I, as did one other reviewer, blended the vegetables into the soup for added flavor and nutrition. I think that I will add in lemon zest as well next time too to enhance the very lemony flavor which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Wonderful flavor - a real keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirdNSav

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong when adding the eggs, but it was blah! My husband refused to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Beautiful soup! Filling and delicious. I used my home-made chicken stock instead of the whole chicken, then added some chicken breasts, which I shredded. Also good without the extra chicken meat. Elegant and simple, like most things that impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good. I added extra lemon juice to my bowl. I also took the other's advice and added the veggies after sticking them in the blender, but I just added a few spoonfuls to my own bowl. Seems like maybe some herbs could be added. Not sure what to add but it is kind of a mild soup. Very good though, and I got seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Good starting point. I wanted to recreate a soup that is served at a local restaurant. This soup was a bit thinner, the egg flavor was less strong, and the lemon was more of a sour flavor - as opposed to a bright flavor (holla if you hear me!). I like a strong chicken flavor, but did not want to mess with all the skimming so I used 2 lbs split, bone-in chicken breast and replaced the water with chicken stock. Hubby hates veggies, so I removed them as the recipe suggests, but if I had my druthers, I'd chop them up, leave them in, and reduce the amount of chicken. PS... be sure to FOLD the yolks into the egg whites (rather than beat in the mixer) or it will be frothy. Despite the differences, the whole family enjoyed the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. I made a few changes, but none that would really detract from the quality of the soup as written in the recipe. I made a chicken pot pie and had many left over ingredients. I used the celery, carrot, onion and the carcas of a rotisserie chicken to make the stock. (I boiled the stock all day). After I discarded all bones and vegetables, I added a handful of onions, peas, mushrooms, carrots and celery. I added the pasta and followed the instructions to include the egg and lemon mixture. This is a keeper. It was warm and comforting while being tasty and rich at the same time. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States