Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Quick to prepare and Good! Sliced 1/2" and boiled the larger slices 3 minutes, then added smaller pieces and continued boiling for 5 minutes. Mashed slightly. Watch squash closely after adding milk. Creamy and a nice subtle flavor. Hubby said it was the best squash recipe he'd ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I used to order the "steamed squash" at a diner in Rhode Island, years ago while stationed in New England in the Coast Guard. This recipe reminded of that wonderful experience. So far I've been asked to make this again and again. Sea salt, fresh cracked pepper, unsalted butter, and 2% Milk, along with fresh yellow or white onions are the only seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jac
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Light and tasty. I added some freshly ground garlic pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent! I personally am not a huge squash fan, but I made this for my wife. We both loved it and are making it for a family dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was great. I shredded the squash and steamed it. Then added to saucepan with 1/4 c milk and butter. Didn't have onions but would add it next time. Very simple but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this without the onion and milk. And I had to use more salt than I thought I would. But, this is a really good way to enjoy the squash right out of my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I liked this. I used boullion in a small amount of water to steam/boil my squash though. And then used a little reserved broth from cooking, mixed with the milk to equal the 1/2 cup. I think that if you are not a fan of squash to begin with, you are not really going to enjoy this recipe though. However, if you do like squash, as I do, it is a flavorful change to a bland veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very yummy and quick recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racharn711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I steamed my squash and onions with 1/2 cup of chicken broth and used a little less milk. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This one gets a 5 and I'm not really fond of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States