Yellow Squash and Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
A great way to use up all that yellow squash in the garden. I used 3 cups of squash instead of 2 and a little less sugar. It took about 45 minutes in the oven and I increased the temperature to 400 for the last 10 minutes. Next time will add some shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I liked it, but my husband didn't. It reminded me of Chi-Chi's corn cake (which I loved). Definitely cook for 40 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This came out great. I did use whole corn, instead of cream corn. I will also add more squash next time, but my husband loved it so im sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe! Very yummy! The only comment I have for it is that I wish I had used even more veggies. The mix takes up more space than anticipated and makes for uneven bites. Some are nice and vegetabley, while others are all strange batter-fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Made a few changes.. try using fresh corn and then scrape off the kernels with a knife instead of cream corn ( added a dollop of cream) .. two ears of corn is enough, just boil in water about 10 min. Also saute the onions, garlic, and squash with butter. Do this until the onions caramelize, I also used flour, corn meal(4:1), baking powder and salt mixture, instead of a baking mix. Mixed two cheeses cheddar and Parmesan with cheddar on top. No left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I made this with fresh organic yellow squash from our garden. Used one teaspoon of Splenda "Sugar Blend for Baking" and 15 ounces of cream corn. Both my wife and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was pretty good. Even though I cut the sugar in half it was still slightly sweet, but eveyone loved it and the children went for seconds. I added some fresh veggies from our garden such as corn and green beans. If you want to make this a main course just add some cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I made this with some squash that I picked from the garden, which is exciting for me, since it's my first garden. Both my girlfriend and I thought this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piedmont, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
We really liked this. I put in half of the sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
So good...I cut down on the sugar a little bit since people said it was sweet. I also had problems with it taking a while, I finally took it out of the oven after 1 hour, and the onions were still kind of hard. I also added crushed ritz crackers and cheese on the top. I thought it was great...my husband didnt like it so much because of the squash and onions being crunchy still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily h.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States