Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These are great! Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. The only issue at all is with the quantity of squash. Eight squash could be anywhere from 2 to 20 cups. I used about 7-8 cups and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. My husband was very impressed. Very easy and efficient to make. Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was a great way to get my toddler to eat squash. I made several changes: used whole wheat pastry flour, added garlic, wheat germ, cumin, coriander, and turmeric. Also, cooked them in coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I used half yellow squash and half potatoes, and added some green onion. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Really good. I forgot the cheese, added a carrot, used a combo of cornmeal, breadcrumbs, and flour. Seasoned w/ S&P, garlic powder, basil, cilantro, chili powder, and a dash of smoked paprika and cumin. Pan fried. Toddler and husband approved. These would be yummy with some hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I had to improvise a bit I didn't have cheddar so used parmesean from a can and used multi grain bread crumbs in place of corn meal. I loved this, it was easy to make my patties held up quite nicely maybe it is because I used my cast iron skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I put a plate on top of the squash while draining and used half zucchini/half yellow squash. It did go together very quickly, so next time I will add seasoning and perhaps some diced hot peppers. I placed them on a rack fresh from the pan, to maintain the crispness until I was finished cooking. Served with Greek yogurt mixed with dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I've made this recipe three times and it's good, but kinda bland as written. It needs about 1/2 tsp of Tony Chachere's and a dash of hot sauce in the mixture for seasoning. Also I've found that butter and a little bacon grease is the best oil to cook it in, not vegetable oil, as butter always produces nicely browned and light patties and the bacon grease lends more flavor. And cook it a little cooler than medium, mine tend to cook too quick or want to burn at the recommended medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DooDah2
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Because of what I had on hand, I reduced this to 3 servings, used red onion. Added shredded carrots, clove of minced garlic & smoked paprika. It took over an hour for the squash, onion and carrot to drain/dry. Next time I will add green onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Made it PALEO-ish. I added 1 1/2 cups of almond flour/meal in place of the cornmeal and flour. Added about an extra cup of cheese and fried in grape seed oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States