Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was tasty!! I would recommend and serve this to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I used half zucchini and half yellow squash. I also added a clove of chopped garlic to the mixture before frying. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
My wife and I really enjoyed this dish. But, of course, I did not follow the recipe very closely. (btw: the dog gave a big ‘thumbs’ up for the leftovers also) I used about a 1 3/4 cup cheese. I used a very sharp cheddar and also some nice jarlsberg rather than a generic American cheese. Instead of ‘salt’ I used lowery’s seasoned salt, 2 teaspoons. (and after mixing in the salt, I let it stand covered in fridge for a few hours before draining the extra liquid) I added 3 minced cloves of fresh garlic. Tossed in some dry seasoning; cumin, basil, oregano, cilantro… and probably some other stuff. I pan fried them at med-high heat in olive oil until they had a light crispy crust (about 3 minutes per side) Served with sour cream and a dash of crystal hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
My family loves this recipe!! We may use a bit more cheese but otherwise we don't change a thing. This recipe makes more than we can typically eat at one meal and we store it in a zip top bag in the fridge and it does great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Very tasty! The addition of cheese might make them stick to the pan, so make sure the it's hot when you add the patties to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was wonderful and different. Hot sauce got my attention being from Louisiana. I did change the cheese and did half cheddar and half pepperjack. Didn't need the pepper or hot sauce. Kind of like fritters. Mmmmm good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This dish was excellent! My mom, fiance, and kids who hate squash loved this. I followed the recipe aside from using zuccini and squash together. I didnt have corn meal so I used bread crumbs instead. Everyone raved! Of course I didnt tell them until they ate it what they were. Just called them fried cakes. I am going to try to bake them today. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is the most exciting thing I've done with yellow squash. Everyone loves it and I make it weekly since it's growing in the yard! Thank you! Delicious!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good! Better than expected actually. I was a little unsure of how these would turn out but since we were looking for ways to use up excess squash from our garden we gave it a try. Pleasantly surprised at how they turned out. The cornmeal is the key ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very good recipe. My daughter said it reminded her of potato pancakes. I agree with the other reviewers that I wish they would have said what size squash or change it to cup measurement. My first try I used yellow and zuccinni squash and with the zuccinni squash being so much bigger, I found out too late I had way to much squash. It turned out still good. Next time I will use hopefully the right amount and it will be even better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States