Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
My wife and I really enjoyed this dish. But, of course, I did not follow the recipe very closely. (btw: the dog gave a big ‘thumbs’ up for the leftovers also) I used about a 1 3/4 cup cheese. I used a very sharp cheddar and also some nice jarlsberg rather than a generic American cheese. Instead of ‘salt’ I used lowery’s seasoned salt, 2 teaspoons. (and after mixing in the salt, I let it stand covered in fridge for a few hours before draining the extra liquid) I added 3 minced cloves of fresh garlic. Tossed in some dry seasoning; cumin, basil, oregano, cilantro… and probably some other stuff. I pan fried them at med-high heat in olive oil until they had a light crispy crust (about 3 minutes per side) Served with sour cream and a dash of crystal hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was delicious. We love fried squash, but not the mess. This is much easier and the squash is nice and crispy. Make sure to make small patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
My family loves this recipe!! We may use a bit more cheese but otherwise we don't change a thing. This recipe makes more than we can typically eat at one meal and we store it in a zip top bag in the fridge and it does great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I used half zucchini and half yellow squash. I also added a clove of chopped garlic to the mixture before frying. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
What a great change of pace for yellow squash. Will add green onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Grateful for a new recipe to help use some of the buckets full of Squash. I might add some garlic or even fresh pepper to give a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieBalls
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very good! I used 3 little squash and kinda just altered the rest of the ingredients. A very kid friendly way to serve squash. I've been making a lot of squash this summer and the kids are pretty scared of it...but not anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I don't understand the part about draining the squash. Putting salt on it is supposed to extract water? Nothing drained from mine. We ate these with Ranch dressing, and the dressing was all you could taste. This recipe is going to make a LOT of patties unless you the number of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I couldn't get any moisture to drain off the squash, even leaving it overnight in the fridge (when I mixed in the salt it got pretty mushy. I added the garlic like others suggested and made the patties bigger (fish cake size). It took a really long time to brown them, but they tasted pretty good. I'm definitely going to add some of the spices suggested as I felt they lacked something. Totally worthwhile making, though, and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Everyone enjoyed these. I will definitely make them again and would certainly suggest this recipe. Even those that dislike squash should find these patties appealing. I only had four medium squash and they were enough for 4 adults making approx. 3in. round patties. I would like more seasoning next time and will add garlic/onion, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States