Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
A very tasty way to help use up some of the MOUNTAINS of squash form the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Grateful for a new recipe to help use some of the buckets full of Squash. I might add some garlic or even fresh pepper to give a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
My first effort was a disappointment. The patties stuck to the pan so badly that I only finished cooking half of the mixture and tossed out the rest. The flavor was good but the cheese might be the reason for the sticking. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This was a great way to use lots of squash from the garden. It really is simple and tasty. I added more onion and used olive oil. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was tasty!! I would recommend and serve this to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I used half zucchini and half yellow squash. I also added a clove of chopped garlic to the mixture before frying. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I didn't use all the salt, so maybe that is where the flavor comes from. They were flavorless and the texture was unappetizing. A drawback to this recipe is not having a better measurement for the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
The patties fell apart on the first 2 batches, so I tried to salvage the ingredients by putting the rest in a casserole and baking it--really didn't like the flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
My wife and I really enjoyed this dish. But, of course, I did not follow the recipe very closely. (btw: the dog gave a big ‘thumbs’ up for the leftovers also) I used about a 1 3/4 cup cheese. I used a very sharp cheddar and also some nice jarlsberg rather than a generic American cheese. Instead of ‘salt’ I used lowery’s seasoned salt, 2 teaspoons. (and after mixing in the salt, I let it stand covered in fridge for a few hours before draining the extra liquid) I added 3 minced cloves of fresh garlic. Tossed in some dry seasoning; cumin, basil, oregano, cilantro… and probably some other stuff. I pan fried them at med-high heat in olive oil until they had a light crispy crust (about 3 minutes per side) Served with sour cream and a dash of crystal hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I do these patties with zucchini as well. I altered the recipe slightly by adding finely sliced string beans and grated carrot, and used 1/2 cup of parmasan instead of the cheddar and more breadcrumbs to make a firmer mixture. I then coated the patties with extra breadcrumbs before frying them, to prevent sticking. Delicious, and well worth a try if you have a lot of squash on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States