Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Loved these. I had a lot of yellow squash from my garden, and decided to try this recipe. My husband doesn't care for squash and he didn't even know, he thought it was potato. He liked them too. I did add a chopped vadalia onion. The topping was great on it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I have made these 3 times. Once they were terrible because I did not get all of the water out of the squash first. The other two times they were great. I use Zatarain's Fish Fry in place of the flour, makes them spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Really tasty and a great way to eat lots of squash! Only good right after frying as I tried it room temperature and they were soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
With squash coming out of our ears from the garden, I found this recipe and tried it on my family. The only way my husband will eat squash is fried and none of my five kids like squash. However, ALL of them LOVED this recipe and they ask for it at least twice a week and my oldest has even gotten adventureous and made them several times herself. We even have made them and froze them on wax paper on a cookie sheet and then bagged them and fried them later and they worked fine. I have shared this recipe with fellow workers who also love it. KUDOS to whoever dreamed up this recipe. NOTE: I only used 3 medium squash and the other amounts I left the same and it fed 7 of us and we froze quite a few for cooking later. So unless you are feeding an army, I wouldn't do 8 squash, I measured out 8 cups and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This recipe calls for 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of salt, and it was way too much for both my husband and I. Next time, I will only use 1 and 1/2 teaspoons (or less). My squash were quite large so I used just two. The consistency came out just right with the amount of flour and cornmeal used in the recipe. I also added some chopped green pepper, and another small pepper (of unknown type) from my gardern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We loved these patties. I also like the fact is uses a lot of squash to make them. This is helpful to garden growers. I used sharp cheddar cheese and added more onion. We top ours with Parmesan cheese as well as sour cream. I also used olive oil to fry our patties in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Absolutely wonderful as is! Once I cooked the first half I put in just a bit of ground red pepper and a little heat was a nice addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up a lot of squash and this one had 'most' of the ingredients I had on hand. I used about 8 squash and it made 12 patties. Following a previous example, I used Lawry's season salt, a 1/4 of freeze dried onions (I was out of fresh), one clove garlic, a teaspoon each of cumin, dried parsley, and dried chives. I added 1 cup shredded mozzarella, 1/4 C feta, and 1/4 parmesan. I also added 2 finely diced jalapenos. They came out surprisingly well! 7/10/11 Adding an update....you HAVE to drain the squash or these will not come out right. Made them again tonight just as the recipe calls for and they were really good. I also made a coleslaw out of zuchinni and that was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
These were delicious! I had two people, who swore they hated squash, rave over it. Although I added the cheese I will omit it next time as the taste was not noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Great change from the ubiquitous, yet tasty, squash casserole. Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Just the right amount of cheesiness. I had to beg for a single patty to reserve for lunch the next day. A big hit with my family. Thank you, thank you for the recipe. I'm making it again tonight, by the way, to go along with venison kebabs marinated in the Venison Gyro marinade from this site. Also whipped up a gazpacho from this site, too. Can't wait for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States