Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Made this tonight and the kids + hubby LOVED it!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These are good. I adjusted the recipe to use one rather large yellow squash and just added the dry ingredients to make it stay together. This will be a repeat recipe for us this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
GOOD, good, good and easy, too. And I don't normally like summer squash. I halved the recipe and used both yellow squash and zucchini. I made a horseradish sauce to serve with them. Sour cream, mayo, horseradish, couple of drops of hot sauce, and a teaspoon of sugar. But I also tried putting catchup on my patties and I loved that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I love this recipe. Where has it been lurking on allrecipes all this time. I would have made this years ago. I found it was not that easy to get the patties to stick together. However they cooked wonderfully. I topped them with sour cream and peach salsa. Great way to use up summer produce from the garden...which I will be doing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhiggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These were fantastic! Shared this recipe with a few others and they made them and loved them as well. Very easy to adjust spices according to what you like. I added some garlic powder, onion powder and seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, unusual for me, but I did this time. The patties turned out pretty good, not too much flavor, though. But they tasted better after they had cooled a little, and the flavors were a little more evident. Don't know what I'd do to make them better?? Maybe a little white pepper, to give them a kick? All in all, they were OK. Don't know that I'll make them again. They are a fair amount of work for something that is only pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very good!! It's one vegetable my 10 year old son WILL eat, he even asks for seconds!!! i made a few adjustments. i used flour instead of cornmeal (because i didn't have any) and i added a clove of garlic and they came out great!!! I find that they are best when made very thin because the crispy brown outside is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I didn't change a thing. I thought they were really good. I ate them with butter rather than sour cream. I didn't think the batter was runny at all, but I also drained the squash, as the receipe recommended. I didn't add baking powder either as some recommended. I didn't think that was a good recommendation for this recipe. It is great just the way it is, following the instructions to a T. I will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are wonderful!!! I have made them several times even with zucchini and it works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was ok but a little bland as prepared (I did not do the salt treatment before hand but did sprinkle with salt while cooking). The consistency was great. They stayed in patty form when they were cooking. I added plenty of pepper and then garlic powder. Still kind of bland. Added hot sauce and that helped. These wanted to be good and essentially they were. Just need a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States