Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Great way to make a main dish from garden squash. We served with salad as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I cut the recipe in half the first time and it still made so much more than the 3 of us could eat. The patties are delicious so I used the recipe as a guideline to make a smaller amount. I grate one yellow squash and 1/2 a small onion and add 1/2 cup of cornmeal, 3/4 cup of flour, 3/4 C shredded cheddar, one egg and salt and pepper. I also grate one carrot into the mix and I also added grated zucchini one time. Great way to get extra veggies into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good!! Needs a little something to spice it up, but really good with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I didn't care for these at all. They were SUPER time consuming to prepare and cook. I really like zucchini patties, that I have made, and assumed these would be really similar. I found the centers to still be gummy or uncooked when the outside was done and I cooked them on medium. The better ones were the much more crisp ones, but they still lacked over all flavor too. The dominant flavor was flour, onion, and grease. A few got eaten, but a majority of it unfortunately got tossed along with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These were great as a side! I didn't have any cornmeal, so I used Bisquick. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
The whole family loved it, even the 4yr old that won't touch a veggie. I did change slightly as others, cut recipe in 1/2, added some garlic, cumin and paprika. Thanks for helping me use my squash in a way that won't go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Very good! I don't usually like cooked squash. Will try adding cilantro,red pepper flakes next time to give them a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Yellow Squash Patties' Haiku: "Man, these were so good! Used some squash from my garden, and other stuff too." While picking some squash to make this recipe, I plucked a handful of parsley, and a chubby jalapeno too, to add some color and zip to these patties. Swapped cheddar for parmesan, and couldn't have been more delighted w/ the results! I didn't really shred my onion (more like minced), but I did let the onion and squash drain for longer than 30 min., pressing the excess liquid w/ a clean dish towel. Very tasty and great way to use up exploding garden boom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These are delicious. I halved the batch and still used one whole egg. It was so good. I only had self rising cornmeal, so used that in place of the flour and cornmeal. Thanks so much for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States