Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is one of my all times favorites. The patties will make an appearance at the Christmas dinner. I've added a little more spices, such as basil, seasoned salt, cumin, cilantro, and of course garlic. Outstanding with sour cream or salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Everyone enjoyed these. I will definitely make them again and would certainly suggest this recipe. Even those that dislike squash should find these patties appealing. I only had four medium squash and they were enough for 4 adults making approx. 3in. round patties. I would like more seasoning next time and will add garlic/onion, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Bleh! Waaay too salty. When I added more cornmeal, milk, and cheese to try to cut it, I realized johhny cakes would've tasted much better. The dog wouldn't even eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
MAKES A TON! NEXT TIME I WILL BE SURE TO DRAIN MUCH LONGER. I COOKED THEM A LITTLE LONGER THAN 3 MIN BECAUSE MINE WEREN'T AS BROWN AS I WANTED THEM. VERY TASTY AND THE KIDS EVEN ATE THEM! (TOLD THEM IT WAS "LIKE" A POTATOE PANCAKE AT FIRST)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by VeggieBalls
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very good! I used 3 little squash and kinda just altered the rest of the ingredients. A very kid friendly way to serve squash. I've been making a lot of squash this summer and the kids are pretty scared of it...but not anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is my new recipe for summer squash!! I used two large squash, seemed to be a perfect amount. Next time I'm going to add a little orange zest and see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very good recipe. My daughter said it reminded her of potato pancakes. I agree with the other reviewers that I wish they would have said what size squash or change it to cup measurement. My first try I used yellow and zuccinni squash and with the zuccinni squash being so much bigger, I found out too late I had way to much squash. It turned out still good. Next time I will use hopefully the right amount and it will be even better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good! Better than expected actually. I was a little unsure of how these would turn out but since we were looking for ways to use up excess squash from our garden we gave it a try. Pleasantly surprised at how they turned out. The cornmeal is the key ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is the most exciting thing I've done with yellow squash. Everyone loves it and I make it weekly since it's growing in the yard! Thank you! Delicious!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This dish was excellent! My mom, fiance, and kids who hate squash loved this. I followed the recipe aside from using zuccini and squash together. I didnt have corn meal so I used bread crumbs instead. Everyone raved! Of course I didnt tell them until they ate it what they were. Just called them fried cakes. I am going to try to bake them today. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States