Yellow Squash Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I thought this turned out very well. I let the shredded squash and onion mix drain overnight in the fridge. Next time I'd add a little more cheese! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Huntland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I only used 5 medium to large squash and got 38 patties. I didn't have any cornmeal so I substituted with another half cup of flour, which turned out well. I also added two cloves of garlic. I was tempted to start shaking on the seasoning, I'm glad I didn't. These were delicious as is,no dipping necessary. I recommend using a cast iron skillet if you can. Go as light as you can on the oil in the pan, they crisp way faster. I did a batch with too much oil and they never crisped they just stayed soggy. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I followed this recipe to a 'T'. They came out mushy. No one like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good flavor; drying was a good idea, but they were a little too greasy for me. My friend loved them; said it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very good - squeezing the squash in paper towels to dry them was the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I pressed the squash/onion mixture with the back of a serving spoon while it was in the colander to help get more moisture out. Even doing that, the patties weren't as crispy as I'd hoped. I did enjoy the mild flavor and thought the corn meal added a nice texture. Maybe next time I make these I'll actually squeeze the squash dry, just like you would frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
these are very good, very reminiscent of latkas, only healthier. I used Pam instead of oil and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I thought these were great and my whole family enjoyed them, including my 4 year old who is convinced that she has to be 5 before she can eat a vegies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
What a great way to use up all of the summer squash from my garden. I have been searching for something different to do with my summer squash, and this hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Fantastic!!! Made this for our Sunday family dinner. Everyone was scared at first and only took one--they all came back for seconds and thirds. All the patties got eaten up!! I followed the recipe exactly but I added 1 Tsp Old Bay Seaoning as I am addicted to that flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States