Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made a low fat version of this (using reduced calorie Ritz crackers, 2% cheese, 1% milk, olive oil instead of the 1/4 cup butter and omitting the butter on top). It was both fabulous and only 134 calories for 1/12. When I asked my husband how many stars to give it, he said 4 - until he found out that I made it healthier. Then, he said it's absolutely 5 stars. Kudos to Rosecart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
i adjusted the serving size and made this as a side dish, super awesome! i'm going to make it again tonight :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Absolutely great ,used smaller size and deeper dish used bacon cooked with onion, didn't use water to cook squash and onion definitely needs garlic ...Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Enjoyed it (the concept) very much. After reading other reviews I backed the 2 eggs down to one - more than sufficient to bind. We used Pepperidge Farm Baked Naturals four cheese Italian herb crips for the crackers (because that is what we had). The cheese was a combination of cheddar, gouda, and parmesiano reggiano. For a final modification we did not dot the top with butter, trusting the cheese mixture would be sufficiently "short" to make the topping crisp up nicely. It was indeed. We served the casserole as an alternative to potato and vegetable with steak and mushrooms. Tonight we will reheat what remains and serve alongside lemon garlic marinated chicken breasts. Will definitely use the concept again with whatever variations make sense at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Made it exactly as written. Loved it. Self, husband and six children all ate it happily and hardly anything left over. The flavor and texture remind me of homemade macaroni and cheese. I wasn't expecting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This sounds so good! I have to admit I haven't actually tried it yet though because I have to be careful with eggs... Does anyone have any suggestions to somehow eliminate the eggs or only use maybe one??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used "Everything" flavored Ritz crackers and it helped season the dish. It reminds me of scalloped potatoes, only slightly healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I baked my squash instead of cooking it on the stove top. Wanted it a little firmer.I used chicken broth instead of the egg.I added Mrs. Dash and minced garlic. It turned out really good. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe many times. It is good. Almost like one I used to make from Southern Living magazine from back in the '90s (minus the milk). One thing that I do when I make it (and this is after many times of making it) is to add a lot more sweet (Vidalia, Mayan sweets) onions and then add a drained can of Rotel. Kicks it up a notch while still keeping the squash-y flavor. I like that this particular squash recipe doesn't call for mushroom soup like a lot of them do. When I don't have crackers, I've used panko or seasoned crumbs for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Comess
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this with 1 large zucchini. I cooked the zucchini and onion together in a large ceramic baking dish in the microwave for 8-10 min. I drained off all liquid that formed. Followed the rest of the recipe with the addition of granulated garlic and celery salt, but I cooked in the microwave covered for 10-12 minutes. Makes about 4 large side dish helpings after cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States