Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Very good, I've done it with zucchini before too and actually liked that even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I read several reviews before making this, and I agree with others that you can reduce the caloric content, while still maintaining the integrity of the original recipe. I substituted white cheddar Cheez-It crackers for the Ritz, and cut back on the amount of low fat cheddar I used, as the crackers emit a cheese-y, potentially greasy, ooze- all on their own. I added lots of garlic to the sautee pan, and reduced the amount of unsalted butter by about a tablespoon. I used 1% milk, and I used white and black pepper, liberally, and added about a half teaspoon of nutmeg to the squash mixture. Make sure you drain really well after cooking the squash and onions, or it will be rather mushy. I also cooked about 10 mins longer. Made this twice in a month, as we had squash overload earlier this summer. Kids, 18 and 10, both liked it OK, boyfriend loved it, as did I. Didn't last longer than 2 days either time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It was good, I made more squash than the recipe called for and it still couldn't have made 10 servings. It serves about 6. I used crumbled Ritz crackers as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have made this several times. I cook in a cast iron skillet in the oven which I have preheated with butter in it. EVERYONE loves it. I do add more cheese and use 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. It makes it fluffier and even better. (I only substituted because I did not have milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Used 1/2 package of bacon, so didn't use butter. Used feta instead of cheddar. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katythehousewifefromhell
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Pretty good. We have been given a bunch of summer squash from friends & I needed to do something with them!! This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennla
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made a gluten free version by substituting the Ritz crackers with Panko bread crumbs. It was delicious! My entire family loved it! I also added about 4-5 minced cloves of garlic when I sautéed the squash and onion. Then I used a cast iron skillet andinstead of transferring it to a casserole dish, I just added everything to the skillet and put it in the oven. It turned out fantastic!! Less clean up too with using only the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. We have been searching for ways to use our squash and zuc, and this was one worth making again. I left out the butter, salt, and pepper, so each person could add the amount they like. Next time I think I will add more crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy and so delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent! I cooked the squash in butter until soft, no water, then added Panko instead of crackers, spread in baking dish. Layer of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the squash, (the Panko absorbs any moisture) then poured milk and egg mixture over the cheese. Panko breadcrumbs on top, dotted with butter and baked per directions. Turned out perfectly! This is definitely the best Squash Casserole I have ever made. The Panko makes it so light and crispy on top. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States