Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Will definitely cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaos Queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gibson City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious! This is so simple yet flavorful. The first time I made it I didn't have any buttery crackers but I did have a half a bag of almost stale potato chips in the pantry so in they went. It turned out great! The recipe is good as written but I can imagine doing a few little twists on it such as adding bacon and or mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napoleon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Excellent! I used Carr's whole wheat crackers which are thick and 15 crackers was too many for 1/2 recipe. This will be my go-to crookneck squash recipe and I'll try with zucchini as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this for a dinner party last night and it was a hit! I used yellow squash & zucchini, otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Will be making this again! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
It was tasty, but thicker than I expected. Was very eggy, and I'd like it a little more soupy. Next time will add garlic and nutmeg, and maybe chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I've made this several times & now my family requests it. I added garlic & shredded carrots in with the squash & onions.... THIS IS SOOO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Very good, I've done it with zucchini before too and actually liked that even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I read several reviews before making this, and I agree with others that you can reduce the caloric content, while still maintaining the integrity of the original recipe. I substituted white cheddar Cheez-It crackers for the Ritz, and cut back on the amount of low fat cheddar I used, as the crackers emit a cheese-y, potentially greasy, ooze- all on their own. I added lots of garlic to the sautee pan, and reduced the amount of unsalted butter by about a tablespoon. I used 1% milk, and I used white and black pepper, liberally, and added about a half teaspoon of nutmeg to the squash mixture. Make sure you drain really well after cooking the squash and onions, or it will be rather mushy. I also cooked about 10 mins longer. Made this twice in a month, as we had squash overload earlier this summer. Kids, 18 and 10, both liked it OK, boyfriend loved it, as did I. Didn't last longer than 2 days either time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It was good, I made more squash than the recipe called for and it still couldn't have made 10 servings. It serves about 6. I used crumbled Ritz crackers as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States