Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a really terrific recipe and relatively easy as well as quick. Didn't last long! I did, however, substitute light butter, red. fat milk, and red. fat cheese. We didn't miss those calories one little bit either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this and loved it...I added a few seasonings like oregano, basil, garlic salt and also added minced garlic and another cup of cheese for the top and it was delicious!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband said to add this to our dinner circuit as a regular. I tweaked it based on comments. Used 1 zucchini to 3 crooknecks, sweet onion, sliced fresh garlic, and a seeded, finely chopped jalapeno, and cooked it until tender in nonstick skillet w/o additional liquid. I seasoned w/ salt, pepper and .5 tsp. of creole seasoning. Mixed with 1 egg, evaporated milk, no butter (I forgot it) in the casserole, just on top, and mixed in some parmesan cheese on the top. I made the casserole at noon, refrigerated it, then cooked it at supper. It seriously rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very filling, but bland. I would definitely add some spices next time. I did add russet potatoes to the squash while cooking, and some black beans when I stirred it all up together for some extra oomph. It needs spices of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I have made it about 5 times, but have modified the recipe a little bit. First, I often cook chicken breast, cut it up into cubes, and mix it in with the casserole. Next, I use both yellow squash and zucchini (it looks much more colorful) and cook them in chicken stock instead of water. I also add minced garlic into the squash while cooking it. The recipe turns out much better this way in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe many times especially last year my son in law had a garden in our yard and the squash was wonderful so I made this quite often. Ive made it as a side dish and always made so much I would eat it for lunch. The only thing is that I always thought it tasted better with our homegrown squash than the store bought. But yes this is delicious.....Ive also added bacon to it on several occasions and also mixed zucchini with the yellow squash and it was Amazing......Debbie S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Delicious! I actually forgot to add the butter to the mixture and melted about 2T to drizzle over the top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I used 2 sm. yellow squash, 1 sm. green zuke, onions, and 1 cup of matchstick carrots (for natural sweetness & color) and sautéed them in Kerrigold Irish Garlic Butter for about 5 minutes, adding minced garlic, parsley, pepper and basil at that time. I did not drain as this was the basis of the flavors with the melted butter. In a large baggie, I crunched up a sleeve of Keebler Butter Crackers (love the elves!) and added 2 cups of shredded cheddar & 1/2 cup of shredded parmesan cheese to the crackers. I added about a quarter of the crumbs & cheeses to the veggies. In a small bowl I combined 1 beaten egg, 1/2 to 3/4 cup fat free Half & Half, and about 1/4 cup of light sour cream and added that to the veggie mixture. Poured this into an 8 x 11" buttered oval casserole and topped with the remaining crumbs & cheeses. After drizzling 2 Tbs. melted butter over top, I baked it in a pre-heated 375 oven for 20 min. My husband and I devoured half the casserole along with lobster tails, swordfish & rice pilaf. Absolutely YUMMY! I have made 3 other recipes, but we agree that this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I've made this casserole for about 2 months now & I've gotten rave reviews everytime!!! Very simple to make & absolutely DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
A very tasty casserole. I used club crackers, since I had them on hand; also added a little cayenne pepper & granulated garlic and cut down on the butter. I used regular milk and full fat cheese, so I only added the butter dots on the topping -about 1 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States