Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this for a dinner party last night and it was a hit! I used yellow squash & zucchini, otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Will be making this again! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenFairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
It was tasty, but thicker than I expected. Was very eggy, and I'd like it a little more soupy. Next time will add garlic and nutmeg, and maybe chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I've made this several times & now my family requests it. I added garlic & shredded carrots in with the squash & onions.... THIS IS SOOO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Very good, I've done it with zucchini before too and actually liked that even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I read several reviews before making this, and I agree with others that you can reduce the caloric content, while still maintaining the integrity of the original recipe. I substituted white cheddar Cheez-It crackers for the Ritz, and cut back on the amount of low fat cheddar I used, as the crackers emit a cheese-y, potentially greasy, ooze- all on their own. I added lots of garlic to the sautee pan, and reduced the amount of unsalted butter by about a tablespoon. I used 1% milk, and I used white and black pepper, liberally, and added about a half teaspoon of nutmeg to the squash mixture. Make sure you drain really well after cooking the squash and onions, or it will be rather mushy. I also cooked about 10 mins longer. Made this twice in a month, as we had squash overload earlier this summer. Kids, 18 and 10, both liked it OK, boyfriend loved it, as did I. Didn't last longer than 2 days either time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
It was good, I made more squash than the recipe called for and it still couldn't have made 10 servings. It serves about 6. I used crumbled Ritz crackers as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have made this several times. I cook in a cast iron skillet in the oven which I have preheated with butter in it. EVERYONE loves it. I do add more cheese and use 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. It makes it fluffier and even better. (I only substituted because I did not have milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Used 1/2 package of bacon, so didn't use butter. Used feta instead of cheddar. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katythehousewifefromhell
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Pretty good. We have been given a bunch of summer squash from friends & I needed to do something with them!! This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States