Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written with the only exception being that for the topping, I melted the butter and mixed it in with the crackers so it coated all the crackers instead of just dotting the butter over the top. Got many compliments on it when I made it for our Christmas family dinner, and was asked to make it again for our Easter dinner this year. Very good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pizzacake
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious as written. The only alteration I did was to melt the 2 TBS of butter and mix that with the topping instead of using dots atop the casserole. However, next time I will use reduced/fat free ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was great. I made a few changes. I found this to be a little bland so added garlic powder and dash of red pepper. I added 1/2 cup of sour cream to make it creamier and topped with French fried onions for extra crunch. Loved this recipe and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a really terrific recipe and relatively easy as well as quick. Didn't last long! I did, however, substitute light butter, red. fat milk, and red. fat cheese. We didn't miss those calories one little bit either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this and loved it...I added a few seasonings like oregano, basil, garlic salt and also added minced garlic and another cup of cheese for the top and it was delicious!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband said to add this to our dinner circuit as a regular. I tweaked it based on comments. Used 1 zucchini to 3 crooknecks, sweet onion, sliced fresh garlic, and a seeded, finely chopped jalapeno, and cooked it until tender in nonstick skillet w/o additional liquid. I seasoned w/ salt, pepper and .5 tsp. of creole seasoning. Mixed with 1 egg, evaporated milk, no butter (I forgot it) in the casserole, just on top, and mixed in some parmesan cheese on the top. I made the casserole at noon, refrigerated it, then cooked it at supper. It seriously rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very filling, but bland. I would definitely add some spices next time. I did add russet potatoes to the squash while cooking, and some black beans when I stirred it all up together for some extra oomph. It needs spices of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I have made it about 5 times, but have modified the recipe a little bit. First, I often cook chicken breast, cut it up into cubes, and mix it in with the casserole. Next, I use both yellow squash and zucchini (it looks much more colorful) and cook them in chicken stock instead of water. I also add minced garlic into the squash while cooking it. The recipe turns out much better this way in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe many times especially last year my son in law had a garden in our yard and the squash was wonderful so I made this quite often. Ive made it as a side dish and always made so much I would eat it for lunch. The only thing is that I always thought it tasted better with our homegrown squash than the store bought. But yes this is delicious.....Ive also added bacon to it on several occasions and also mixed zucchini with the yellow squash and it was Amazing......Debbie S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States