Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used "Everything" flavored Ritz crackers and it helped season the dish. It reminds me of scalloped potatoes, only slightly healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I baked my squash instead of cooking it on the stove top. Wanted it a little firmer.I used chicken broth instead of the egg.I added Mrs. Dash and minced garlic. It turned out really good. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe many times. It is good. Almost like one I used to make from Southern Living magazine from back in the '90s (minus the milk). One thing that I do when I make it (and this is after many times of making it) is to add a lot more sweet (Vidalia, Mayan sweets) onions and then add a drained can of Rotel. Kicks it up a notch while still keeping the squash-y flavor. I like that this particular squash recipe doesn't call for mushroom soup like a lot of them do. When I don't have crackers, I've used panko or seasoned crumbs for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Comess
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this with 1 large zucchini. I cooked the zucchini and onion together in a large ceramic baking dish in the microwave for 8-10 min. I drained off all liquid that formed. Followed the rest of the recipe with the addition of granulated garlic and celery salt, but I cooked in the microwave covered for 10-12 minutes. Makes about 4 large side dish helpings after cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Tried it tonight. I cut the recipe in half since there are only two of us. It was great! Don't know if I would change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I needed to do something with my pile of zucchini this weekend, so seeing the video on Sunday morning was perfect timing...and I had everything on hand! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
this was an awesome recipe!! per a couple of reviews I did not cook the veggies first, and I added zucchini and shredded chicken other than that I followed the recipe and it was awesome and was requested to be made again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I make this all the time, but I grate the zucchini and add 2 more eggs, can of green chillies, chopped ham or bacon and chopped red pepper or sun dried tomatoes for colour. We have it for breakfast. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made minor adjustments as the original recipe sounded pretty good as is. I cut the butter down quite a bit (both inside and omitted the pats on the top),added garlic powder (next time I'll probably saute minced garlic with the veggies), and I added sliced kielbasa sausage to it to make it a main dish. Not typically the first meat you think of for a casserole but its what I had on hand and it was quick. Better yet it tasted great with the squash. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was a good recipe with some changes from previous reviews. I omitted the butter and decreased to 1 egg and 1/3 cup milk and did not miss it. Added crumbled bacon and used 1/2 zucchini and 1/2 yellow squash as well as a Mexican blend cheese and a hint of garlic. I did not have crackers so used a Panko bread crumb. I will decrease the original cooking of the zucchini and squash so that it holds up a little better during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States