Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Well folks I am back. Dinner is over and the yellow squash casserole was gobbled up by all. OMG it is soooo gooood!! The 8 full cups of squash was perfect. The only change I made was time and tempature because I was baking a meatloaf along side the casserole. I cooked it at 375 for 45 min. Perfect! The bottom was firm and nicely browned and there was nothing mushy or gooey about it. When cooled I cut and removed it from the dish with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosedale, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a hit with the whole family. This is especially true with me, since I am not a big squash lover, but I enjoyed the squash prepared this way. My wife added provolone cheese and said it was even better, so I will try it with an Italian cheese blend next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Very rich! I didn't have enough ritz crackers, so I added what I had...graham cracker crumbs! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I am in love with this recipe. I saute the onion with a clove of minced garlic until caramelized, then set that aside and steam the squash and zucchini for about 5 minutes in a little broth. I also add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg which tastes amazing. I use low-fat cheese, milk, margarine, and crackers and it still tastes decadent. I also reduce the amount of margarine on top to just 1 Tbsp instead of 2 and it still tastes deliciously buttery. It keeps very well in the fridge and actually makes a yummy breakfast dish the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Very easily made,taste was delicious.great way to use a lot of fresh yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I loved this. Of course, I don't think I've ever made a recipe as it was written. First, I sauteed the onion and squash in a little olive oil until just barely soft. I also used sharp cheddar, added parmesan, added garlic powder, used Garlic Butter Ritz because that's what I had on hand, and mixed a little butter into the cracker mix I used to top the casserole instead of dotting it with butter. When I make this again I'll add another cup of squash, and instead of mixing the crackers and cheese and then dividing, I'll add 1/4 the crackers and 3/4 the cheese to the squash and use the rest to top it. Fantastic base recipe. Just takes a little cooking common sense to make this a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Loved this! I made it exactly as written, and it was amazing. I think i didn't drain the squash quite enough, and next time I may make extra cracker crumb/cheese mixture to make the kids like it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
The egg definitely ruined this dish. It was like a mushy quiche on the bottom. The top part (that was not part of the egg milk mixture) was great, a little bland but had a lot of potential and looked more like the picture. If I were to make this again I would omit the egg and milk and just stir in a small bit of sour cream instead. and more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Absolutely perfect! Made exactly as written. I will try adding bacon next time as recommended by another person. This is sooooo easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States