Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tdhuyvetter
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe! Very easy and extremely tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This recipe is great; I've fixed it many times and have passed it on to friends and family who also love it. I use more cheese (usually at least 3 cups and I like to mix cheddar with Colby jack) to taste, omit the wine, and add onion. I usually steam the squash first but if I forget I just up the temp to about 400 and leave the lid for 30 minutes. I also add a topping of breadcrumbs mixed with spicy breader (fish batter) and a dash of olive oil.(~1/4 c each. stir until all topping is moist and crumbly and sprinkle over top) I add this after I take the lid off or about 20 minutes before it is done. I've used canned squash and I've also substituted with zucchini and it was great both ways! Our family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA
Living In: South Gibson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! The corn bread mix tastes fabulous, and this meal was a big hit! It's a great way to use garden vegetables, and I'll be making this one again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a delicious squash casserole. My wife use Gewurztraminer wine and it was great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
The best thing ever to do with those ubiquitous summer squash. After reading other reviews, wanted to avoid the "eggy" thing, so removed one of the egg yolks. Added 4 oz. of fresh, sliced mushrooms and a bit of thinly sliced yellow onion, as well as 1/2 tsp. of Hot Chinese Mustard.(Think Dijon would have worked well, too.) Steamed the squash for 6 min. to retain a vestige of vitamins. No salt or pepper. Shredded a little extra cheese on top, and baked @ 350 for 45 min., to match something else already in the oven. My husband and I both loved it. Will never turn down an offer for yellow squash from a gardener again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
wonderful casserole that really pleased my family, plus it utilitzes squash that is overflowing in my freezer. Will make this over and over and will recommend to everyone who loves squash and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anthony, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Very delicious. I didn't have any egg on hand so I just added about half again as much cheese and 3 tablespoons of flour. I also sprinkled some extra cheese on top and a mixture of 1/4 cup bread crumbs and 1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil. The topping added an extra crunch that made the dish more enjoyable. I also only needed to cook the dish for about 15 minutes since the squash was already cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Some mentioned they didn't like the eggs. I loved the eggs in it. I did add fresh rosemary and onions for extra flavor. It's a keeper for us. Thanks to Allrecipes.com, we enjoy many great meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My picky eater son (age 12) even loved this. I added some fresh minced garlic to taste, 1/2 onion-sauteed, and spinkled some panko bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
So simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States