Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Seven or eight stars! The best yellow squash recipe EVER. I didn't have the jalapeno peppers, but I added a green bell pepper instead. Both me and my husband went over the moon! Thnk you, Ann Girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is a good recipe, however, I prefer it with garlic added and without the soy sauce and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Loved this squash. Just different enough from our usual, but will go with so many dishes. I used poblano instead of jalapenos since we're a little wimpy about too much heat. Thanks, Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Prepared this as written, including the unusual addition (at least for me) of the fresh, chopped jalapenos - but I couldn't resist adding some fresh, minced garlic too. Colorful and delicious, even though the soy sauce kind of dulled the vibrant, fresh yellow color of the squash. The taste by adding it, however, made up for its somewhat compromised appearance. Loved the addition of the jalapenos, which provided a splash of color and interest more than it did taste. And, as is usually the case, bacon makes it even better! Nice, creative twist on the same ol' squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Just made this dish, and I love it! Hubby tried it, and liked it also, but not one of his faves. I tweeked it a little, adding some garlic salt and onion powder, also replaced jalapeno with a small cayenne pepper minced up. All in all, very good side dish, will probably make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was good, and it even got my 9 year old to like squash! I have made it several times now and its always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I have to give this recipe 4 stars only because I made modifications. I sauteed onions, yellow squash, and zucchini in bacon drippings. Then I seasoned it with Mrs. Dash seasoning spice and a dash of salt. I'll try the original recipe soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
My husband, the veggie hater, asked me to make this again - a miracle! I loved it, too. I did add three cloves of garlic, used turkey bacon and a bit of sesame oil and used salt and pepper rather than soy sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I thought this was delicious. I used a serrano pepper instead of jalapeno because I had an abundance of them and I did add some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I did'nt like the idea of putting bacon in it,and I wanted something healthy,so I left out the bacon and jalepenos,since I did'nt have the peppers.I did use onion,fresh minced garlic cloves,about for cloves,I sauteed in butter,and used salt and pepper.Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States