Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
So good! I had never cooked squash before, and this was simple and tasty. I used turkey bacon and butter flavored non-stick spray. I also used jarred jalapenos because I didn't have fresh. The squash turned out spicy and delicious! This will be my go-to recipe for cooking squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
easy and tasty -- added pablona pepper since I didn't have jalapeno (mainly just added color)... my hubby and i really liked the bacon and onion flavor....didn't really taste the soy sauce and I did put 2 pretty decent spashes. I think I'll add a little garlic next time like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I did'nt like the idea of putting bacon in it,and I wanted something healthy,so I left out the bacon and jalepenos,since I did'nt have the peppers.I did use onion,fresh minced garlic cloves,about for cloves,I sauteed in butter,and used salt and pepper.Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for my other half. I do not eat squash. So this is his review. "Good". Thats the answer I got.....Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was really good! I didn't add jalapenos because my main dish had them, but I did add some minced garlic and did everything else as written. Even my husband, who does not normally like squash, said it wasn't that bad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I used turkey bacon, 3 md squash, 1 md onion, s&p and basil. I didn't use a jalapeno or soy sauce and it tasted great!!!! I made sure those onions are caramelized then added the squash and covered for about 15 minutes. Then re-added bacon basil and s&p.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Awesome with a few additions. I cooked as recommended. I also added garlic, and 1/2 beef bullion cube. The bullion cube beefed up the taste! Definitely will make again and again. I gave it four stars because I had to add a few items to make it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
excellent - I added a bit more bacon, but he jalepeno makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourlittlefeet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was a great way to cook squash. A huge change from the usual way it gets prepared (butter and brown sugar). I am not sure if the recipe needs a little tweaking to add more flavor or if our squash was just totally flavorless (hard to tell since I usually avoid squash). I did notice the soy sauce had gotten a stronger taste from the portion that was not served out of the pan. I may prep this first and let it sit on a warm burner so it can soak in a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gberdan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very tasty, I modified it a bit by leaving out the pepper. Excellent way to eat squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States