Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Simply wonderful. "Thinly sliced" is the message here; something like 1/8-inch is ideal, no thicker, please. Not to worry, the drippings from 2 slices of bacon is not too much fat. You may prefer, as do I, to fry your bacon over moderate heat, but high heat works best for the vegetables. Cook just until you sure the squash is tender but not wilted. I had some ends of yellow and red bell peppers, which I also "thinly sliced," and they may an easy addition without upsetting the recipe and iota. I'll do this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was good, but WAY too hot. I don't know if I just got a really hot jalapeno or what, but it was spicy! Also I feel that the recipe should warn people to wear gloves when chopping fresh jalapeno. I've never done it before and my hands (and face unfortunately) were burning all night, even though I washed my hands right after chopping. Again, really hot jalapeno. I will definitely be making this again, but maybe with pickled jalapeno instead or half a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wishgirl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out fantastic! We grew the squash in our garden and used 2 good sized specimens. The rest came from Kroger. I did use Marzetta jalapenos, 2 tablespoons or so because they didn't have fresh peppers when I was there. Even my husband, who has always said he hated yellow squash ate this up! We will definitely try it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love when I come upon a recipe and try it even though my first reaction is, "What the HECK?!" I never would have thought to combine these ingredients. But I had a squash that needed to get used and I apparently was feeling adventuresome. SO GLAD! This is definitely one of my all-time favorite vegetable dishes. The combination of jalapeno and bacon, as well as the splash of soy combine to make something very tasty and unique. Thanks to Ann_Girl for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was much better than I expected. I substituted turkey bacon fried in a tablespoon of canola oil, lite soy sauce and lemon pepper. Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRoyce Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is delicious! We all loved it, including my 6 year old and 3 year old that usually won't eat squash. It's a keeper for sure. I followed the recipe exactly and included the jalapeno as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Cooked this tonight for a church potluck tomorrow. I had frozen sliced squash rather than fresh, and jumped the gun a little by adding the 3 bags to the pot all at once. Result was so much water cooked out of squash and onions, that they weren't firm at all by the time they were done. Ended up adding extra s&p, soy sauce, and some Slap Ya Mama seasoning. I think they were good, and hope next time they come out a little more firm. I'm sure it was user error this time, as I don't cook squash often. Still good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Excellent. We have lots of yellow squash and looking for different recipes - this was it! Especially since we had jalapenos in our garden as well as the yellows!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet K Regner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Loved it just the way it is! My roommate and I make this all the time, he is not a veggie person but he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becrac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious! I did however add garlic and sauteed the squash and onions in EVOO and butter. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States