Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I an not a real fan of yellow squash, but this one is a winner! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just made this recipe and it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
omitted the pepper and soy. Pretty much used this recipe to build on. cooked 4 strips of bacon not too crisp, removed excess bacon grease, cooked 1/2 red onion diced, six sweet peppers, 1/2 bag of mixed squash trimmed until soft but still firm, then cut up the bacon and cooked another minute to mix flavors and rewarm the bacon. Did not add soy, salt or pepper. The serving bowl was scrapped clean, says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I just made this last night and it was delicious. I did not add the jalapeno pepper. I used teriyaki marinade & sauce instead of soy sauce. I seasoned with garlic pepper. My family really loved it. I will definitely be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Simply wonderful. "Thinly sliced" is the message here; something like 1/8-inch is ideal, no thicker, please. Not to worry, the drippings from 2 slices of bacon is not too much fat. You may prefer, as do I, to fry your bacon over moderate heat, but high heat works best for the vegetables. Cook just until you sure the squash is tender but not wilted. I had some ends of yellow and red bell peppers, which I also "thinly sliced," and they may an easy addition without upsetting the recipe and iota. I'll do this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was good, but WAY too hot. I don't know if I just got a really hot jalapeno or what, but it was spicy! Also I feel that the recipe should warn people to wear gloves when chopping fresh jalapeno. I've never done it before and my hands (and face unfortunately) were burning all night, even though I washed my hands right after chopping. Again, really hot jalapeno. I will definitely be making this again, but maybe with pickled jalapeno instead or half a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wishgirl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This was great! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out fantastic! We grew the squash in our garden and used 2 good sized specimens. The rest came from Kroger. I did use Marzetta jalapenos, 2 tablespoons or so because they didn't have fresh peppers when I was there. Even my husband, who has always said he hated yellow squash ate this up! We will definitely try it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I love when I come upon a recipe and try it even though my first reaction is, "What the HECK?!" I never would have thought to combine these ingredients. But I had a squash that needed to get used and I apparently was feeling adventuresome. SO GLAD! This is definitely one of my all-time favorite vegetable dishes. The combination of jalapeno and bacon, as well as the splash of soy combine to make something very tasty and unique. Thanks to Ann_Girl for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was much better than I expected. I substituted turkey bacon fried in a tablespoon of canola oil, lite soy sauce and lemon pepper. Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRoyce Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is delicious! We all loved it, including my 6 year old and 3 year old that usually won't eat squash. It's a keeper for sure. I followed the recipe exactly and included the jalapeno as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States