Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My husband really liked this and the bacon was a good addition along with the soy. I'm not that fond of squash so it seemed ordinary to me. Will probably make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Awesome! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is one of those great recipes that gives a great starting point alone, let allows you to adapt and make changes easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Wow, so good that you know all that bacon grease must be bad for you. Remind me next time to take about half the fat out before adding veggies. Did not have a jalapeno or soy sauce, but salt and pepper did just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
this was so great! it is amazing how far a little soy sauce can go in terms of flavoring! i didn't have a jalapeno so i left it out, and i used a shallot instead of a regular onion. i will definitely make this again sometime this summer, probably with the jalapeno pepper to give it some "kick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Was a big hit. I also used a bite of garlic and the soy sauce. Didn't notice a difference in taste with or without soy sauce. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This tasted great but I added some things and omitted others. I used REAL BACON pieces in a pouch, just heated it up in oil to get bacon flavor. I cubed squash and added shredded carrots. I used onions like the recipe called for. I omitted soy sauce b/c it smelled delicious without it. Would definitely make again. I also used this stuff called JANES CRAZY mixed up salt for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was really good! A nice twist on plain old yellow squash. I would suggest that if you do not like things spicy, do not add the jalapeno. I love spiciness but it really adds a lot of heat and distracts from the rest of the flavors. The combination of the squash, bacon and onion was very tasty on its own without the jalapeno. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Prepared this as written, including the unusual addition (at least for me) of the fresh, chopped jalapenos - but I couldn't resist adding some fresh, minced garlic too. Colorful and delicious, even though the soy sauce kind of dulled the vibrant, fresh yellow color of the squash. The taste by adding it, however, made up for its somewhat compromised appearance. Loved the addition of the jalapenos, which provided a splash of color and interest more than it did taste. And, as is usually the case, bacon makes it even better! Nice, creative twist on the same ol' squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States