Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This was great. Two slices of bacon give a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Shultz
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Been making this for years minus the soy sauce...and I add Zucchini...it is an old Mexican dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I needed to use up some squash and saw this recipe. I omitted the bacon and added freshly, sliced garlic (5 cloves), 1/2t of oregano,1t of of agave, and a can of diced tomatoes. After stir-frying, I mixed this with some quinoa and served with a salad. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is a simple and tasty side dish. I left out the jalapeno since I don't like them, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. As someone else pointed out, the grease of 2 slices of bacon is nothing to be concerned about. It is really very little grease but adds flavor. I will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I an not a real fan of yellow squash, but this one is a winner! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just made this recipe and it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
omitted the pepper and soy. Pretty much used this recipe to build on. cooked 4 strips of bacon not too crisp, removed excess bacon grease, cooked 1/2 red onion diced, six sweet peppers, 1/2 bag of mixed squash trimmed until soft but still firm, then cut up the bacon and cooked another minute to mix flavors and rewarm the bacon. Did not add soy, salt or pepper. The serving bowl was scrapped clean, says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I just made this last night and it was delicious. I did not add the jalapeno pepper. I used teriyaki marinade & sauce instead of soy sauce. I seasoned with garlic pepper. My family really loved it. I will definitely be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Simply wonderful. "Thinly sliced" is the message here; something like 1/8-inch is ideal, no thicker, please. Not to worry, the drippings from 2 slices of bacon is not too much fat. You may prefer, as do I, to fry your bacon over moderate heat, but high heat works best for the vegetables. Cook just until you sure the squash is tender but not wilted. I had some ends of yellow and red bell peppers, which I also "thinly sliced," and they may an easy addition without upsetting the recipe and iota. I'll do this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was good, but WAY too hot. I don't know if I just got a really hot jalapeno or what, but it was spicy! Also I feel that the recipe should warn people to wear gloves when chopping fresh jalapeno. I've never done it before and my hands (and face unfortunately) were burning all night, even though I washed my hands right after chopping. Again, really hot jalapeno. I will definitely be making this again, but maybe with pickled jalapeno instead or half a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wishgirl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States