Yellow Split Pea and Frankfurter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Excellent soup! I tried it with the ham and added potato. When it is 0 out, this soup will warm the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
we enjoyed this soup - yummy winter food. My only change was not to add mace, as I didn't have any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Love this recipe, easy to make, just added a wellshire turkey ham steak instead of the frankfooters,and nutmeg instead of mace, I didn't even know what mace was till I googled it, hehe!! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I loved the soup. I had about one cup of lentils, so I used that and only used 4 cups of chicken broth. I used the same amount of veggies that the recipe called for and I pureed them. I didn't have mace, so I used a pinch of nutmeg instead. I also threw in a bay leaf, some tony chachere's seasoning, salt,pepper, and garlic. I used boars head franfurters and put it all in a crock pot. My husband thought it was ok (but he's tough to please) and my daughter fished out the frankfurters and ate them. I ate 2 bowls and have been eating leftovers for lunch. I think it's super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Not bad. Definitely needs something more for my taste buds in the way of flavor. Didn't really like the frankfurters, I used turkey. I am thinking next time I will get a ham hock or two and make a nice broth from those, then add in the other ingredients. I used two carrots and I think next time I will use a little less peas (2 cups), add 2 cups of V8 and add some more spices (like parsley and perhaps some Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt). Overall my kids and Hubby really liked it and ate it up. Thank you for the recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This soup is wonderful! I did need to add 2 more cups of chicken stock and I also blended 4 cups to make it creamy as well as chunky, I didn't have mace spice so I used a pinch of nutmeg and it worked out perfectly. I did not add the frankfurters-I agree for a full meal that a sausage of some sort would be great as well. I only gave 4 stars due to some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
The soup minus the hot dogs is just delicious! Next time I will use her suggestion of ham instead, and add it earlier to give the flavor time to mesh, as I think that would go a lot better than the hot dogs did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was an awesome soup. After i softened the vegetables i threw them into a crockpot along with the split peas. I tossed the franks in about three hours before it was time to be served... Warms you up, through and through. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very quick and easy. We used vegatarin bratwurst cut up in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My family really liked this soup! Followed the recipes exactly. Very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States