Yellow Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
The recipe turned out great for me, a first time baker @38yrs.old,but i think it called for too many eggs. The first one I baked was good, but the second one could have won a prize. I used 6 eggs instead and used margarine instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
The batter was SOOO buttery. I knew this cake would be like heaven. I followed the recipe to the letter(except the bake time. It was done in about half the time). However, when I ate it after baking, it tasted more like cooked eggs. I really did not taste any butter. I think it was a waste of my egg and butter supply. Sorry, but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Anne
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
A beautiful pound cake that would make Grandmother proud! I followed recipe as directed and it was beautiful. My Mother-in-law said it was better than her Mother made and she made the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
PERFECT! I made this in a large 9x13 rectangle pan, 60 mins at 325. Not too sweet nice sponge texture great with whipped cream and strawberries made this for Canada weekend HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Metcalfe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Great recipe and so easy to make. The only thing I ommited were the eggs. The cake will rise without them. I would recommend to this anyone. This is even Great for Kids or Adults who have allergic reactions to eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Followed ingredients and directions. VERY dry. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This is a FANTASTIC cake! A very heavy and sweet cake. It needs no icing! Will always be in my recipe book! A must have! Thank You Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Great, with a capital G! My children said that it was just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
It was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Very Yummy!! I did go by the suggestion of only adding 6 eggs.. turned out fine... and no eggy taste!.... When it came to beating the whites I added 2/3 of the sugar required to form a meringue like substance... it always seems to work out better for me. I would also suggest glaze (for that extra sweet tooth!) with 1/4 cup of milk, and 3/4 cup of white sugar, with a teaspoon of vanilla(combine over medium/low heat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bombshellbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States