Yellow Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by stephanieliz
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
When I did this recipe I used one less egg, and a tad more sugar. It came out wonderfully! It was my first time baking a cake, and even though I stumble over a few steps it turned out delicious. I decided to make some real whipped cream to go on top and my family loves it. I'll definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanieliz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charmed9899
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I've baked this cake twice in one week for myself and for cousins. It’s just that GOOD & it's so moist and simple you can’t go wrong with this one at all. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charmed9899

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good, tastes a lot like shortbread, especially in the dough stage. Quite light in texture, not heavy like other pound cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very moist and smooth texture. Tasted a lot like eggs. A good recipe but I would not make again if I was specifically looking to make a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This recipe is fantastic and has become a regular request at our ladies monthly tea party. I use home made cake flour by taking 2 Tbs. of flour out of each cup and replacing it with corn starch. I keep messing it up but this recipe always seems to be fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written. My grandmother, who is 88, tasted this and loved it! She is in assisted living, so she can't cook anymore. She has requested this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This pound cake was excellent! So moist and delicious! I will definitly make this time and again! It is the best desert ever! I couldn't stop eating it and I'm more of a brownie person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashpumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Im not the biggest Pound Cake fan ever, but this really was pretty good! I read the other reviews, and almost everyone said to bake it for much less time then called for, but when I did, it popped like a balloon! BAKE IT AS LONG AS IT SAYS. Anyway, it really was pretty good! P.S. It seemed to taste better the second day. I recomend making it a day early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
EXCELLENT recipe! So easy to make, so delicious and moist!..had everything on hand..my alterations were: I increased milk to 3/4 cup, doubled the vanilla to 2 tsps, used 6 eggs instead of 8, and added grated Hershey milk chocolate bars to the batter (about 1 cup grated), then baked for 50 minutes, not 90 mins. as stated. Baked it in 9"x13" pan; my husband ate 1/2 of pan in 1st sitting..didn't last 24 hrs in my house! Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have tried about 4 different pound cake recipes within the last two weeks and this was the best thus far. I added orange zest,used 6 eggs and 3/4 cups of milk......delicious! This was a big hit with my family. Thank you for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States