Yellow Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Beat the egg whites after you beat the other ingredients,if you don't you will have to beat the egg whites again. They seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Crehan
Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i used everything the recipe called for, except i changed the cake flour to all purpose flour. instead of using a tube pan, i used a loaf pan. i only needed about 2/3 of the batter, and i cooked it for 2 hours instead of 90 minutes, and it came out perfect! i;ll be sure to make this again! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janetcorwith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I used this recipe to make the french butter cakes: madeleines. I added a little baking powder to it and lemon extract and they turned out to be better than any madeleines made from a true madeleine recipe. So if you're looking for a great recipe for madeleines, try this one. Also if you don't have cake flower just use 7/8 all purpose flour and 1/8 corn starch. It's a great substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this cake to cut up and use in a trifle. The frozen stuff costs too much. I probably only used about 1 1/2 cups of butter and used all purpose flour in a 9x13 pan. It turned out just fine for what I needed it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Used 6 eggs and 3 cups of cake flour. It turned out great! Mixed condensed milk, whole milk, and whipped cream and poured it over a small serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This turned out really well and was surprisingly easy to make. The only thing I recommend is to eat it soon. It tasted the best right out of the oven and the next day was a little tough, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
came out amazing. I took everyone advice and used only 6 eggs. I also didnt use the full 3 1/2 cups of flour i only used 3 1/14 cups. Ty for the recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
when I made this it turned out so good that I could not keep it to my self. But if you add a little sugar on top of it makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My cooking time was about 65 minutes. I had enough batter for both a bundt pan and a small loaf. I added some amaretto--between 1/4 and 1/2 cup and a 2nd tsp of vanilla. Used 6 eggs instead of 8. I noticed some people said that this tasted "floury", so I used 3 cups of flour--making that third cup with just a little extra on top, so less than 3 1/2 cups, but a tad more than 3 cups. Served it with whipped cream, and my taste testers loved it!! (we "sampled" the small loaf yesterday and I'll bring the full cake for Christmas dinner today.) Thanks for sharing the recipe. I'm not a baker at all--usually a box mix person, and I was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
It's amazing how many "pound cake" recipes on this site that are not the old fashioned, traditional pound cake like this one. These basic ingredients are all that's needed. Mine was done aobut 15 mins earlier than called for. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Beall Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States