Yellow Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Okay, but the garlic really seemed to conflict with the rest of the brine ingredients. Warning: this reiew is from someone who grew up eating red beet eggs, which, though sweet like these, typically doesn't have garlic; my dislike for the garlic could just be for that reason, or maybe it really just doesn't go well with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
A little sweet, a little sour, thought they were pretty good overall. One thing to remember is to use "pickling/canning" salt, or kosher salt. The iodide in regular iodized table salt will ruin anything pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
There was not enough fluid to cover the eggs when jarred. Have not tasted the eggs yet. (on a later date) I now have tried them and they were great! Very good, but make sure you don't have to be someplace the next day, like work or church! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I prefer a somewhat tart pickled egg. This recipe yielded a quite sweet egg. The dill and garlic were overshadowed. If I use this recipe again I will reduce the amount of sugar, probably by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Made these yesterday, but cut the sugar by half and they are fantastic after just one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Make it as is. This one is a favorite. I've made loads of different types and flavors of pickled eggs and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Made exact recipe but only had 7 massive eggs - brine did not cover them, so I agitated them in the 'fridge every day for good coverage. (This issue will depend completely on the size/shape of the jar and your eggs, mathematically I assume...). They hit day 5 today so I jumped in - OUTSTANDING! It has been difficult to not eat them all in one sitting. Despite following the recipe the eggs were not yellow as expected, more like beige-ish. Still perfect, however. Next time maybe more mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I tried several different pickled egg recipes and my husband loved this recipe and asked me to make them again. I don't eat eggs myself so I can't really taste them and have to trust the recipe but this on is apparently a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Easterling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a good recipe, but doesn't make enough brine. My first batch was barely covered. Made a second batch with less eggs and topped off the first two jars. Stuck an extra clove of garlic in the bottom, as well as a stem of dill. Used fresh dill with this batch, although dried dill also worked great last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
If you add yellow onion skins to the boiling mix, you will get a deep golden color. Just remember to remove them before covering the eggs with them... or, leave them in for some interesting "leaf" patterns on the eggs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States